Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Software Profiler in EDK with PPC

Hi there,

I'm having some issues getting the software profiler to run properly on my embedded system.  I am fairly new to the XPS suite, and am using EDK 8.2i, with a XC2VP30 Virtex II – Pro FPGA (with 2 PPC cores).

I have a project which consists of some hardware and some firmware, which is integrated onto a custom board.  The software which I would like to profile runs on PPC_2.

I have followed a few different walkthroughs, none of which were particularly descriptive, regarding the software intrusive profiling through EDK (which essentially uses gprof). 

One of these is directly from a Xilinx senior product applications engineer: http://www.xilinx.com/xlnx/xweb/xil_tx_display.jsp?iLanguageID=1&sSecondaryNavPick=&multPartNum=1&category=&sTechX_ID=rg_root_evil&sGlobalNavPick=&BV_SessionID=@@@@0831786709.1190419171@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccdaddllkjhdiecefeceihdffhdfkf.0
(this particular example is for a microblaze application, but I have found 1 others example with identical instructions for PPC (EDK 7.1),  as well as found old posts on forums stating that people have successfully used profiling with the PPC in EDK 7.1 and 8.1. 

The actual "Help" index in XPS has some barebones information on profiling, mainly for a microblaze application, and contains far less information than the other links I have found.

All of the info I can find seems to say the same very basic things:
-enable software intrusive profiling the software platform settings (with no profile timer selected because this is for PPC)
-add the -pg flag to the compiler options of the project
-in XMD, configure profiling, for example:
     profile -config sampling_freq_hz 10000 binsize 4 profile_mem 0xF2C00000
-download the executable to the board:
     dow PPC405_2/executable.elf
-type "profile"