Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Uartlite: Receive buffer stuck in infinite loop

Hi!

I am using the basic uartlite polled mode example code

I have an RS232 PMOD connected to my Avnet ultrazed iocc.

I have connected the TX and RX of the PMOD using a jumper for a loopback test.

However, nothing is ever received. 

I'm a newbie to all this

Any insights would be helpful.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Hey there, a couple of things. First did you checkout the note for the RS232PMOD about the pin assignments:

https://reference.digilentinc.com/_media/pmod:pmod:connecting_uart_pmod_interfaces.pdf

Secondly, did you create the project using the PS or the PL UARTLite, the example code you are using is an AXI PL UART.

If you did use PS EMIO or PL UART Lite, did you verify your constraints for pins?

Its tough to debug without any kind of details about your project, but share whatever you can and we can see where it goes.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Hi @mleccadito !

Thank you so much for your reply!

According to 

https://www.avnet.com/opasdata/d120001/medias/docus/138/AES-ZU3EGES-1-SK-G-UltraZed-SOM-Designers-Guide-v1-1.pdf

I had connected Tx to AD5 and Rx to AE9 pins.

Please let me know if there's any more info you'll need to help me out.

Again, thank you so much.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Hey,

You shouldn't have any issue using those pins, however that doesn't exactly tell me much.

Maybe you could share some screen shots of your block design and pin constraints file, and sdk code?

Do you have a scope you could probe the TX line, or an FTDI chip that you could connect to the output of the TX? Just a debugging step to verify if its TX or RX that's the issue.

When you say your not receiving data, what exactly do you mean by that? Does it get stuck in the while loop waiting for the bytes to be received?