UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
5,900 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I have a design in Vivado 2014.2 with :

- one block design with a microblaze sub system

- one block design with IP

The two BD are connected in the top level.

 

I managed to export the design to SDK and write some C.

(Peripherals and mapping were good in the system hardware platform)

 

XSIM won't simulate my elf file as there is not activity, microblaze is looping between 2 addresses.

So the tools seem to have stayed in bootloop configuration.

I did make the elf association to my elf (pointing on the elf file in the SDK debug repository) !

 

I managed to have it running only once, when I was doing tries, so I don't remember what was the context !!

 

I don't get what I'm doing wrong.

 

Any idea ?

 

Thank you.

 

Stéphane.

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,220 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Re: Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

Responding to myself !

 

After 4 hours of enquiry, simulation came back ....

Not really sure what happended ..

 

Afters doing several "simulation clean up" in Vivado and tries, I noticed that when I checked the "elf association" the elf was back to bootloop ! After doing things again simulation worked.

I did this being in XSIM, maybe there is a link ...

 

But for sure, to know what elf will be simulated, the .mem file in proj.sim\sim_1\behav contains the information.

 

Stephane.

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,221 Views
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Re: Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

Responding to myself !

 

After 4 hours of enquiry, simulation came back ....

Not really sure what happended ..

 

Afters doing several "simulation clean up" in Vivado and tries, I noticed that when I checked the "elf association" the elf was back to bootloop ! After doing things again simulation worked.

I did this being in XSIM, maybe there is a link ...

 

But for sure, to know what elf will be simulated, the .mem file in proj.sim\sim_1\behav contains the information.

 

Stephane.

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Newbie jay_rambus
Newbie
5,028 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

@adeneo_sju wrote:

Responding to myself !

 

After 4 hours of enquiry, simulation came back ....

Not really sure what happended ..

 

Afters doing several "simulation clean up" in Vivado and tries, I noticed that when I checked the "elf association" the elf was back to bootloop ! After doing things again simulation worked.

I did this being in XSIM, maybe there is a link ...

 

But for sure, to know what elf will be simulated, the .mem file in proj.sim\sim_1\behav contains the information.

 

Stephane.

 


 

Thanks, for your post and answer.
I faced similar issue on 2014.4
solution seems to be with multiple simulation sets.
If you have correct elf file associated in one simulation set but a bootloop elf associated to other one than you will face this issue.
Although there should not be any connection , only active simset should be considered but, this is what I could figure out.
so make sure you associate same elf file to all simulation sets.






0 Kudos
Observer gudurvenkatesh
Observer
3,195 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

Hello,

Could you please share the links for creating such a system where Microblaze and a custom hardware peripheral are interfaced and are simulated in ISIM or in Vivado?
Any document or link would be most helpful for me.


Regards

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,172 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Vivado Simulator doesn't simulate my microblaze elf file

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

After your hardware design ready and exported to SDK for each software application there will be a executable and loadable format file (ELF).

The Vivado Design Suite will automatically merge an associated ELF file for an embedded processor design when generating the device bitstream. For this to happen you have to associate the ELF file using the Tools > Associate ELF Files option from the Vivado IDE the Vivado Design Suite menu to merge them to the various output files.

 

For more details with example please refer to http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1180.pdf

 

Regards

PV

 

 


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos