UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor cciressan
Visitor
21,894 Views
Registered: ‎01-04-2008

XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Hello,
 
Here is the setup:
    Win XP Pro
    ISE 9.1.03
    EDK 9.1.02
    Modelsim 6.1b
(which I tested on 3 different computers!)

Several days I trying to understand what in my PC environment was wrong because in XPS the "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" fails each time with the message (from compxlib_out.log):
ERROR:: Failed to execute compxlib -s mti_se -lib unisim -lib simprim -lib xilinxcorelib -lib smartmodel -arch virtex -arch virtex2p -arch virtex4 -arch spartan3 -arch virtex5 -l all -dir . -w -smartmodel_setup :
ISE library compilation completed
 
Shortly after, the EDK library compilation fails too without the ISE libraries.
 
------> PROBLEM: the XPS "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard)
cannot be used to compile the ISE/EDK libraries!

I would appreciate if other people (or Xilinx) can give feedback on this ?
 
Eventually, I found an alternative solution which is the good old command line.
(I guess this is what many others did before me ... but still I think such bugs should
not be left wild out there. Besides, the wizard is supposed to, I quote : "enhance your experience..."
and this is definitelly not the case :) )
 
The solution I found is to run the library compilation in two steps:

1) compxlib -s mti_se -l all
   -arch spartan2 -arch spartan2e -arch spartan3 -arch spartan3a
   -arch spartan3adsp -arch spartan3e -arch virtex -arch virtex2
   -arch virtex2p -arch virtex4 -arch virtex5 -arch virtexe
   -lib u -lib c -lib s -lib m -smartmodel_setup -w -o C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib
 
and

2) compedklib -lp C:\edk_user_repository\
              -lp C:\EDK\hw -intstyle=ise
              -hdl_type all
              -X C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib\
              -o C:\Modeltech_6.1b\EDK_Lib\
              -s mti_se  -exclude deprecated  -log C:\Modeltech_6.1b\EDK_Lib\compedklib.log
 
(that is : not use compedklib to compile the ISE libraries!)
-------------------------------

If someone wants to test this and confirm/infirm this problem please note that the command
bellow is what is executed when runing the XPS "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (compedklib wizard).
      
THIS WILL ALWAYS FAIL:
--------->
       compedklib -hdl_type all
                  -run_compxlib
                  -intstyle=ise -s mti_se
                  -o C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib\
                  -log C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib\compxlib_out.log
                  -smartmodels_dir=C:\Xilinx91i\smartmodel\nt\installed_nt\
 
The problem is the compxlib.cfg file (for a hint ...)
 
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Explorer
Explorer
21,886 Views
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

 
hope it works!
 
btw, I tried as instructed, though compiled successfully while when running the simulation, 3 errors occured ;(
0 Kudos
Participant tm_jin
Participant
21,875 Views
Registered: ‎10-10-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

i had also encounter this problem before, but after upgraded to edk9.2 ,you will can Compile Simulation Library directly using the wizard.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
21,852 Views
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Adding the $EDK/cygwin/bin to the path will also overcome the problem of the ISE libraries not properly compiling.  This problem has been fixed in 9.2.

Steve

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
21,839 Views
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Hi, Steve,
 
Which path do you mean, under Windows XP, 'system variables' -> 'path' or 'user variables' -> 'path'?
 
Thanks!
 
Jeffsen
0 Kudos
Visitor cciressan
Visitor
21,835 Views
Registered: ‎01-04-2008

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Hello all,
 
Thanks for the input.
However, on the context of 9.1 tool version I keep my statement : the library compilation does not
work from the XPS menu ...
 
I wrote this email on the forum because it may save a lot of effort to other people who will attempt
to use the wizard for the purpose of compiling the simulation libraries.
It is more for the record so that others can find information on this just in case.
 
Here are some quick answers:
 
Jeffsen : the link you gave is indeed a good source of information.http://vcag.ecen.okstate.edu/wiki/index.php/Installing_the_Simulation_Libraries
and I would recomend it too. However, you may have noticed in the text that the procedure says:
  • ------->Go to the DOS environment and traverse to the ModelSim directory (e.g. C:\Modeltech_6.3a) and type the following
  • ------->compxlib -s mti_se -f all -l all -w -o .
  • ------->Make sure you examine the compxlib.log file for any errors.
This works fine! But the bug I mentioned is related to the "Compile Simulation Library" (wizard).
 
At the time of my email I also found a similar alternative solution with the command line.
I also managed to successfully perform a microblaze system simulation.
 
tm_jin & elzinga : I understand that in 9.2 this is solved. This is good! I did not tried yet.
However, the problem will still be there fro those with older tool versions.
 
elzinga: changing the PATH to include %XILINX_EDK%\cygwin\bin does not help ...
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Again for the sake of completeness here are some pointers to discussions on other FPGA forums
related to this problem:
 
 
Hope this helps!
 
BTW, just to conclude :))))
In 9.1.i tools the item "Simulation->Generate Simulation HDL Files" never works either.
Again, in this case an alternative (command line solution) exists.
 
 
Voila.
CRC
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
0 Kudos
Visitor rodolfovit
Visitor
21,806 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Hi jeffsen,
try this http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/24097.htm ;i was able to compile libraries in this way.

But now i have a new problem: when i launch modelsim and i try the command " vsim unisim.ppc405 " i have this errors:

# ** Error: Failed to find LMC SmartModel libswift entry in project file.
# ** Fatal: Foreign module requested halt.
#    Time: 0 ps  Iteration: 0  Instance: /ppc405/ippc405_swift/ppc405_swift_inst File: D:/Xilinx91i/smartmodel/nt/wrappers/mtivhdl/smartmodel_wrappers.vhd Line: 10659
# FATAL ERROR while loading design

I modified modelsim.ini as i raed here http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/24800.htm but nothing changes.
I'm using edk 9.1sp2 and modelsim 6.1e.

Any ideas?


Message Edited by rodolfovit on 01-10-2008 02:32 AM
0 Kudos
Visitor cciressan
Visitor
21,798 Views
Registered: ‎01-04-2008

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Did you try adding this to your PATH env. variable :
 
%XILINX%\smartmodel\nt\installed_nt\lib\pcnt.lib
 
Regards,
CRC
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor rodolfovit
Visitor
21,788 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Thanks cciressan, but i've already tried...

When i load my edk project in modelsim and i try to simulate it, it gives me these errors:

# Loading D:\Xilinx91i\smartmodel\nt\installed_nt/lib/pcnt.lib/swiftpli_mti.dll
# ** Error: (vsim-3193) Load of "D:\Xilinx91i\smartmodel\nt\installed_nt/lib/pcnt.lib/swiftpli_mti.dll" failed: DLL dependent library not found.
# ** Error: (vsim-PLI-3002) Failed to load PLI object file "D:\Xilinx91i\smartmodel\nt\installed_nt/lib/pcnt.lib/swiftpli_mti.dll".
#         Region: /
# Loading D:\Modeltech_6.1e\win32/../std.standard


0 Kudos
Visitor cciressan
Visitor
21,720 Views
Registered: ‎01-04-2008

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Right ...
Should be something different (with your smartmodels):
 
When you compiled the ISE libraries did you compile selectively the FPGA families?
 
e.g:
 
 compxlib -s mti_se -l all
   -arch spartan2 -arch spartan2e -arch spartan3 -arch spartan3a 
   -arch virtex2 -arch virtex2p -arch virtex4 -arch virtex5 
   -lib u -lib c -lib s -lib m -smartmodel_setup -w -o C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib
 
The errors dissapeared by using the simple command:
 
 compxlib -s mti_se -l all 
   -arch fpga 
   -lib u -lib c -lib s -lib m -smartmodel_setup -w -o C:\Modeltech_6.1b\ISE_lib
 
---
Check the arguments you used to compile the ISE libraries.... mayre redo with the
commands above.
 
Good luck!
CRC
 
 
0 Kudos
Visitor rodolfovit
Visitor
6,303 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Thanks for your precious help, cciressan: now it works!!!


0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,288 Views
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: XPS 9.1 "Simulation->Compile Simulation Library" (wizard) always fails!

Jeffsen,

Either the System Variables or User Variables will work.  If you modify the System Variables path to include the $EDK/cygwin/bin, then all users of the computer will benefit.  If you modify the User Varaibles, then the currently logged on user will benefit.

Steve

0 Kudos