UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor gir2004
Visitor

help in using microblaze with external DDR memory on Spartan 3E

Hi,

I'm a beginner in using the EDK tool to design a system that uses the microblaze and the on board DDR memory. I started with the BSB and created a test project that is supposed to test the DDR SDRAM. After downloading the program, it freezes when attempting to test the external memory. Does anyone know how to deal with this? Also I would appreciate help on how to use the external DDR memory for program executable code and data?

Thanks,

Girma
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Explorer
Explorer

Re: help in using microblaze with external DDR memory on Spartan 3E

Make sure you run out of block ram and not ddr memory.   How much block ram do you have?

Cheers,
Bill Tomb
0 Kudos
Visitor gir2004
Visitor

According to the spec the FPGA has 360 Kbits block ram. The board I'm using is Xilinx's Spartan 3E which comes with 64MByte of DDR SDRAM.
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer

Hello.....

First of all a question. When you say that you created a test project that tests the DDR SDRAM, are you referring to the auto-generated project form the EDK when you infer the DDR controller or this is you own custom made project?
If the answer is that you use the auto-generated project then the fact that it freezes may show a lot of things:
Do you use a custom made board or you bought one? (just thinking of bad external memory connections but not probable)
Does you project meets timing? It is very crucial for the good functionality of the DDR Controller. Check you clocks and DCMs.
Check your ucf file for the pins connected to the DDR.