UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer
5,937 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2010

mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

I am using edk11.1 on spartan 3e fpga baord.

I have succesfully added ethernet ip .  From the library I got a fuction XEmacLite_SetMacAddress(&EmacLitePtr,macAddress);  

could we set any arbitary 48 bit mac address to the Board?  

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,866 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

If you use one of Xilinx boards, there should be a sticker somewhere on the board with the unique MAC address assigned to that board.

 

If this is your own custom board/end product, check the site http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address on how MAC addresses are assigned.

 

If you only use it in a small testing enviornment, the FPGA doesn't care what MAC address you use as long as it's unique in the network the board is on.

Cheers,
Jim

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,867 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

If you use one of Xilinx boards, there should be a sticker somewhere on the board with the unique MAC address assigned to that board.

 

If this is your own custom board/end product, check the site http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address on how MAC addresses are assigned.

 

If you only use it in a small testing enviornment, the FPGA doesn't care what MAC address you use as long as it's unique in the network the board is on.

Cheers,
Jim

View solution in original post

Explorer
Explorer
5,908 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2010

Re: mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

I am trying to connect two spartan 3e FPGA Board by Ethernet port.

I did not find any sticker on spartan 3e about mac address. In that case what should i do?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
5,905 Views
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

Re: mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

as Jim stated. If you are in a closed ethernet system (which you are) the MAC address isnt really all that important. As long as it is unique in the system that you are setting up.

 

If you are using LwIP you can use the function Xemac_add() to set the MAC addresses of each board

Explorer
Explorer
5,899 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2010

Re: mac address of FPGA board

Jump to solution

I am using spartan3e(xc3s500e,fg320).

I think lwip is not available in this board. in that case I have used    XEmacLite_SendFrameto send a fram from board to pc and that succesfully happend.Now there are similar function like    XEmacLite_RecvFrame now will this fuction be used for sending board to receiving board.From where the recv_frame will expect to receive the frame?

 

 

0 Kudos