cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,631 Views
Registered: ‎12-29-2008

system with PPC405

Hi,

 

I have been working with EDK for some time , by mistake i have not observed one thing, i.e ., when i have connected PPC and other peripherals to my system in system assembly view address tab for ppc405_0  it is showing name as C_IDCR_BASEADDR  and base address as 0b0100000000 and high address as 0b0111111111  and  size  as 256 and Bus interface is showing as not connected.

 

I could not understand why this bus interface is showing not connected , any one has faced this problem, am i doing any mistake?? please guide me .

 

regards,

Krishna Kishore 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
6,545 Views
Registered: ‎03-13-2008

I have built my system by Base System Builder Wizard (BSB ), and the bus interface is not connected as well.

and my system is worked properly, so i think this is not a problem, and this tag may be connected when you connect your PPC as slave in PLB but I'm not sure.

 

 

Message Edited by hamzah.aaaa on 04-14-2009 08:16 AM
Best Regards.
Hamzah A. Abdel-Aziz
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,528 Views
Registered: ‎12-29-2008

Thank you,

 But i have used ISE 8.1 i didnt face such problem, i dont know why it is like this in ISE 10.1 is there any significance, can any one tell me ...

 

regards,

Krishna Kishore 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,522 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Hi,

 

I remember that these register are not necessary for a working system! They are only available for reading cache status related information (cache hits/misses)...

Rgds,

Kai

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,514 Views
Registered: ‎12-29-2008

Hi Kai,

I could not understand it , could you please explain with respect to my question.

thanks in advance,

regards,

Krishna Kishore 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,507 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Hi onkarkk1,

 

With respect to your question: No, you are not doing any mistake! Your design should work properly as well.

Probably, you will face a problem only if you would like to request status information of the instruction cache

controller! For doing that, read the f*****g manual. I remember there are some important limitations concerning

the I/D-cache-DCR memory region.

 

Rgds,

Kai

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,493 Views
Registered: ‎12-29-2008

Hi Kai,

Thank you,

Could you please send me link of that manual.

Regards,

Krishna Kishore. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,478 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Hi onkarkk1

 

yes, look for  ppc405block_ref_guide.pdf and read

- Input/Output Interfaces,

  - Devic-Control Register Interface,

    - Internal Device Control Register (DCR) Interface

      - Virtex-4 FX Processor Blocks

    - External  DCR Bus interface

 

Rgds,

Kai

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
6,473 Views
Registered: ‎12-29-2008

Thanks Kai,

I will do read them.

 

regards,

Krishna Kishore 

0 Kudos