Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gilles007
Visitor
Visitor

Axi DMA proxy module

Hello all

I am working on a project to transfer data from DDR to a custom IP (created in HLS) in PL and the goal is to do this from the User Space in PetaLinux. To understand the Axi DMA in user space I first created a simple hardware design with a DMA loopback on a ZedBoard. Implemented this into PetaLinux and added the dma_proxy module that I found on forums (dma-proxy.c.golden). After fixing DMA request channel errors I got into a segmentation fault to test transfers and I dont know where to go from here.

I am a total noobie in embedded Linux and I am trying to understand every step to achieve my goal. It is really hard to learn or experiment within this field, because not all application, drivers, modules out there are understandable or working when implemented. All tips and hints are very welcome.

- dma-proxy.c is the module I currently use, dma-proxy.c.golden would give an error "DMA channel request error" and never load my driver under /dev. So on line 400 in the golden one I changed the 

dma_request_slave_channel(&pdev->dev, name);

to

dma_cap_mask_t mask;

/* Zero out the capability mask then initialize it for a slave channel that is
	 * private.
	 */
	dma_cap_zero(mask);
	dma_cap_set(DMA_SLAVE | DMA_PRIVATE, mask);

/* Request the DMA channel from the DMA engine and then use the device from
	 * the channel for the proxy channel also.
	 */
	pchannel_p->channel_p = dma_request_channel(mask, NULL, NULL);

And on line 440

rc = create_channel(pdev, &channels[TX_CHANNEL], "dma_proxy_tx", DMA_MEM_TO_DEV);

if (rc) 
		return rc;

rc = create_channel(pdev, &channels[RX_CHANNEL], "dma_proxy_rx", DMA_DEV_TO_MEM);
	if (rc) 
		return rc;

to

rc = create_channel(pdev, &channels[TX_CHANNEL], "axidma0", DMA_MEM_TO_DEV);

if (rc) 
		return rc;

rc = create_channel(pdev, &channels[RX_CHANNEL], "axidma1", DMA_DEV_TO_MEM);
	if (rc) 
		return rc;