UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Benefits with PetaLinux

Accepted Solution Solved
Visitor
Accepted Solution

Benefits with PetaLinux

Hi,

I'm new to the Zynq world, and want to do some research before I start working with Zynq boards. I like the idea that one can run an operating system (PetaLinux) beside the FPGA, but I can't really understand why one would do that? Isn't FPGA the best choice when it comes to performance and technology. 

The reasons I can think of is:

- Less power consumption

- Less complexity because one can create appliations in C/C++

But are there other important differenses other than these?

--S.A

Accepted Solutions
Scholar

Re: Benefits with PetaLinux

[ Edited ]

You would use an Operating System on the Zynq for the same reasons you use one on your PC or smartphone. Mostly to be able to run applications on it.

As for performance, well, in general, your application will run as fast as the hardware allows. You'll get 25MB/s on the Zynq's SD card interface, regardless of whether you do this in Linux, Windows or bare metal. Heavy number crunching will be limited only by CPU speed. A 16-channel 160-tap FIR filter will process just as many samples per second regardless of whether you're doing that in Linux or bare metal.

An simple way to think of this is this: The (Linux) kernel is a bare metal application.