cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor

Bitstream works for a few seconds on powerup, but stops running when kernel is booted. Reprogramming with FPGA Manager doesn't work

Hi
I've got a strange problem where my bitstream runs correctly before the kernel is booted, but stops working part way through the kernel boot, and I can't reflash it from the Linux userspace.

I'm new to the Zynq board and FPGAs in general, I'm developing on an MYIR Z-Turn Zynq 7020 board. I'm using the OCL flow, using Vivado 2019.1 and SDK 2019.1, and have successfully built a kernel, devicetree, and u-boot using the buildroot program.

I'm trying to output one of the clock signals on one of the header pins on the bottom of the dev board,
I've got the pin hooked up to an oscilloscope

and the clock signal is being output as expected, but it only last for a only a few seconds on the header pin as expected while u-boot loads the kernel, then the signal disappears part-way through the kernel boot process! It seems to be around the point where "of-fpga-region fpga-full: FPGA Region probed" is printed to the console.

I've configured the PL bitstream to be programmed by u-boot by including the bitstream in the boot.bin file.

I suspect that the problem may be that the kernel is re-flashing the bitstream somehow, but I can't figure out where.

As part of troubleshooting the problem of why the PL stops running, I ran into another problem through trying to program the bitstream from the Linux userspace using FPGA Manager, following the instructions on https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/18841645/Solution+Zynq+PL+Programming+With+FPGA+Manager. I checked that the fpga_full and devcfg nodes were present in the devicetree, and it seems that the FPGA Manager is at least running because there is a message in the console on boot, and the /sys/class/fpga_manager/fpga0/ directory is present on the device.