cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
harish-anil
Adventurer
Adventurer
585 Views
Registered: ‎05-15-2018

Can I read a image from HDMI In port into PS directly without any PL interferance

Jump to solution

I am trying to develop an application with Open CV in it.
I have an HDMI camera, that would provide real-time feed over HDMI i/p port.

I am looking for hints to develop a C code that could read this HDMI port and do some processing and write to HDMI port out. 

Any tutorials that could help me do this. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
watari
Teacher
Teacher
564 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @harish-anil 

 

This answer is "no". You need to implement some modules, at least HDMI Rx module, in PL side.

 

Also, I suggest you to refer the following URL.

 

https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/126320678/Zynq+UltraScale+MPSoC+Base+TRD+2019.1

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
watari
Teacher
Teacher
565 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @harish-anil 

 

This answer is "no". You need to implement some modules, at least HDMI Rx module, in PL side.

 

Also, I suggest you to refer the following URL.

 

https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/126320678/Zynq+UltraScale+MPSoC+Base+TRD+2019.1

 

Best regards,

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
harish-anil
Adventurer
Adventurer
561 Views
Registered: ‎05-15-2018

So you mean I implement HDMI Rx module and then write that to memory and that access the image/video or any data for that sake? 

0 Kudos
harish-anil
Adventurer
Adventurer
559 Views
Registered: ‎05-15-2018

https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/126320678/Zynq+UltraScale+MPSoC+Base+TRD+2019.1, with reference to this, I have already worked on 2018.3 and prior to these ones. So I know the video frame read by HDMI Rx module  is written into a frame buffer (wr Frame buffer), how do I access that buffer from a user app in PS ?

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
549 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @harish-anil 

 

Which method do you want to use. baremetal application os running application on OS ?

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
harish-anil
Adventurer
Adventurer
547 Views
Registered: ‎05-15-2018

Running application on the OS. 

0 Kudos
watari
Teacher
Teacher
536 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Hi @harish-anil 

 

OK.

I suggest you to use "mmap" and/or (V)DMA setting for (V)DMA kernel driver.

These ways are useful for you.

 

Also, so, you need to implement VDMA and some interconnection to access from CPU, too.

 

Best regards,

0 Kudos
harish-anil
Adventurer
Adventurer
513 Views
Registered: ‎05-15-2018
Thank you !!
0 Kudos