Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
amurices
Visitor
Visitor

Don't understand how AXI Quad SPI works with (Peta)Linux

Jump to solution

Hi all, noob here (started messing with hardware about 5 days ago). I'm trying to run a PetaLinux distribution on my MicroZed 7010 by programming the FPGA with just a simple SPI IP. Done this in Vivado, letting it do most of the work, and came up with a design that can successfully generate a bitstream and program the FPGA.

final block design.png

So now, as I understand, I need to export the hardware design to PetaLinux. I used the following three commands, as instructed in the PetaLinux reference guide:

petalinux-config -c kernel
petalinux-build
petalinux-package --boot --format BIN --fsbl ./components/plnx_workspace/fsbl/fsbl/Release/fsbl.elf 
--fpga images/linux/main_block_design_0_wrapper.bit // the .bit file is what was produced by Vivado

The drivers I activate are these:

menuconfig.png

All good so far, right? But then, after I copy the files produced by PetaLinux in <project_dir>/images/linux/ to the Boot partition of my SD card, one of two things happen (and I have the jumpers on the right position: JP1-2-3, JP2-2-3, JP3-1-2):

1. It doesn't boot.

2. It boots, but the drivers are nowhere to be found.

So what I realized is that the .dtb generated by PetaLinux is incorrect. It contains no reference to axi_quad_spi as it should, and neither does the boot log (I know this from dtc'ing the .dtb back to .dts). So what I do then is use the SDK to generate a .dts, and that one was correct (to the best of my knowledge). However, now, when I try to boot with the new .dtb, it gets stuck. According to this post, it has to do with the SPI references in the .dts. It shouldn't have anything to do with the SPI ports being MIO'd though, because as I understand it, that should only apply to the PS SPI.