UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor nado
Visitor

Following the "Xillinux for Zynq-7000" Guide and can't boot (Unable to read file uImage)

Hello everyone,

I am a student from Germany who is doing his first babysteps in the world of embedded Systems, so please be kind if I dont get something trivial! 

So I got the task to install Xillinux on the Zynq-7000. My advisor gave me the pdf "Getting started with Xillinux for Zynq-7000 v2.0". So I am following the guide strictly and doing all the steps the guide did too. I came until  "4.3 Powering up the board".

From here I got some problems. The system is not booting correctly, I got the error-message 

"Unable to read file uImage". 

I had the following files on my prepared SD-Card: boot.bin, devicetree.dtb, xillinux.2.0.img and xillydemo.bit. All download/created with the help of the guide.

What I dont understand is that in the guide at page 21 ("3.6 The files in the boot partition") the author is talking about an uImage. So I am guessing I am missing an uImage but in the whole guide he is not talking about creating an uImage. So is the guide maybe skipping some steps which I dont know? What I have to do now? 

In addition I saw at the end of the guide a part about compiling the whole linux kernel. I did all steps and created my uImage and also a new devicetree.dtb. At the end I had the following files on the SD-Card: uImage, devicetree.dtb (the new one generated), boot.bin and xillydemo.bit. Here of course he found the uImage but I had some others problems. 

To be honest, I dont really understand the whole process yet and I have the impression the guide is skipping some parts.