UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor peter_xue
Visitor
2,223 Views
Registered: ‎12-28-2017

How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

There are very few materials for debugging the linux or u-boot  for using the newest sdk,such as 2017.4 by using smartlynq.

Hope some user guide for the tools.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
2,182 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2017

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

Hi @peter_xue,

 

Refer https://www.xilinx.com/html_docs/xilinx2017_4/SDK_Doc/SDK_concepts/concept_osawaredebug.html 

Thanks,
Sandeep
PetaLinux Yocto | Embedded SW Support

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to Reply, Kudo, and Accept as Solution.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Scholar ronnywebers
Scholar
2,143 Views
Registered: ‎10-10-2014

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

@sandeepg, I'm interested too ... 

 

but if I click on the link you provided, the main SDK page opens :

 

 https://www.xilinx.com/products/design-tools/embedded-software/sdk.html

 

while your link seems to point to 'os aware debug' stuff?

** kudo if the answer was helpful. Accept as solution if your question is answered **
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,131 Views
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

There are some wiki articles on this :

http://www.wiki.xilinx.com/Debug+U-boot

0 Kudos
Visitor peter_xue
Visitor
2,101 Views
Registered: ‎12-28-2017

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

How to debug the linux kernel directly , that's to say the sdk can load kernel image  then debug it at once , and not debug the linux kernel by attaching the remote hw_server(smartlynq).

thanks a lot.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,023 Views
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

Hi Peter

 

Here is an old answer record to debug the linux kernel through SDK, which I beleive still applicable for latest versions too:-

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/67767.html

 

 

Best Regards

Shabbir

0 Kudos
Scholar ronnywebers
Scholar
2,015 Views
Registered: ‎10-10-2014

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

the link @sandeepg posted seems no longer valid, but I found it here

** kudo if the answer was helpful. Accept as solution if your question is answered **
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
2,005 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2017

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

Hi @ronnywebers

 

I don't see any difference strange.

 

Mine:

https://www.xilinx.com/html_docs/xilinx2017_4/SDK_Doc/SDK_concepts/concept_osawaredebug.html 

 

Yours:

https://www.xilinx.com/html_docs/xilinx2017_4/SDK_Doc/SDK_concepts/concept_osawaredebug.html 

Thanks,
Sandeep
PetaLinux Yocto | Embedded SW Support

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to Reply, Kudo, and Accept as Solution.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Scholar ronnywebers
Scholar
1,964 Views
Registered: ‎10-10-2014

Re: How to debug the linux kernel or u-boot in the xilinx sdk by using smartlynq?

that's really strange @sandeepg indeed. 

 

When I click on the link in my previous reply I get this :

 

link1.png

 

If I clicked on your link in your last reply, get to see this :

 

https://www.xilinx.com/html_docs/xilinx2017_4/SDK_Doc/SDK_concepts/concept_osawaredebug.html 

 

link2.png

 

 

so that looks like a strange artifact ... I had copied (CTRL-C) the url in 'memory', on the first link I used the menu 'insert/edit link', on the 2nd I just pasted (CTRL-V) the (same) url in the post ... 

 

though the url looks identical (at the bottom left of Google chrome I can see the URL when I hover over the link), it directs to 2 different pages ... ??

** kudo if the answer was helpful. Accept as solution if your question is answered **
0 Kudos