UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

How to develop a user space application to write and read from AXI-LITE SLAVe.

Jump to solution

Hello Experts, 

I am pretty new to OS concepts and device drivers, hence I am struggling to find a method to develop a userspace application to write/read from an AXI Slave register.

I have developed a video streaming system, and it has all the PL logic working, now I want to add control lines to the passthrough, these control lines shall come from the AXI Lite, as shown in the image below.

AXI_CustomBlock.png

I also have this custom AXI lite IP block (my_function) developed here. I know how to write a bare metal SDK application to derive a .elf file and drive these control lines, but here there is a dependency (the passthrough app is a userspace app) and I want to integrate this control feature into the same app.

Could you please provide any valid tutorials on developing user spaces apps that could access these AXILIte slave address.

What drivers I would need in this, what changes do I need to make to the embedded petalinux build.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: How to develop a user space application to write and read from AXI-LITE SLAVe.

Jump to solution
You see the physical memory mapped address of your ip core in vivado right? Vivado usually a signs that.
You can also see it by looking into the device tree or by importing your. Hdf into sdk.

By knowing the physical address of your ip core you basically have 2 options to access its registers.

Quick and dirty way:
Look at the Linux system call '' mmap''