Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Kernel panic boot error Ultrascale+ Petalinux 2019.2

Jump to solution

Hi, 
 I am fairly new to Linux. I and trying to boot petalinux running on a Mercury XU5ev SoM from an SD card. I have used a "zynqMP" template to create the petalinux project and imported the "xsa" I generated from vivado 2019.2. This is because the SoM has no BSPs. I then went on to run petalinux-build, -package etc.

However when I boot the device it gets stuck as shown in the attached console log. I am unsure if there are any address configurations for the kernel or boot mode I need to setup in petalinux or even device tree changes?

I am also wondering if the vivado project address editor which has some unmapped segments is the cause? I have a VCU encode,FramebufferWr and and SDI_Rx IP and 4GB memory on the SoM. Please attached also the editor image.

Any thoughts or pointers will help as to getting petalinux to boot please?

regards

Bade

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Re: Kernel panic boot error Ultrascale+ Petalinux 2019.2

Jump to solution

Thanks,

I got it working now. I have updated the link

Thanks

Bade

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Jump to solution
Any help or pointers are welcomed please
Thanks
Bade
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

Jump to solution

Hi @badegoke_f1 ,

About unmapped addresses, you can use button, stated up-right corner of Address Editor Window. 

I'm using Vivado/SDK/Petalinux 2018.2. First all of that must be same version for you (2019.2). 

About starting a new design, I strongly recommend to you, starting from scratch.

First you need to be sure all of ZYNQ clocking(UART, Ethernet...) are correctly initialized. After that you can easily add your own Ip Cores or algorithms into your base design.

My recommendation steps are: