cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kolpak
Visitor
Visitor
989 Views
Registered: ‎07-25-2018

Linux Zynq booting from QSPI requires SD-card?

Jump to solution

I need to load Linux from QSPI. My board is Zedboard + FMCOMMS4-EBZ. I need to do this without SD-cards. There is my .bif file:

the_ROM_image:
{
    [bootloader]D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\zynq_fsbl_0.elf
    D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\system.bit
    D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\u-boot-zed.elf
    [offset = 0xF00000]D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\uImage
    [offset = 0x1400000]D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\devicetree.dtb
    [offset = 0x1410000]D:\linux_zynq_flash_test_zed\linux\uramdisk.image.gz
}

U-Boot successfully load kernel, devicetree and ramdisk but at boot time Linux starts to check filesystem:

Hit any key within 3 seconds to abort filesystem check

And then:

temp.PNG

 

If I need to load Linux from QSPI I still need to use SD-card?

0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kolpak
Visitor
Visitor
1,004 Views
Registered: ‎07-25-2018
0 Kudos
Reply
4 Replies
savula
Moderator
Moderator
976 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Hi @kolpak,

 

No need of SD card. you can directly boot the Linux from the QSPI flash. 

if if is not working then please check this AR#64903  https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/64903.html

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
kolpak
Visitor
Visitor
970 Views
Registered: ‎07-25-2018

My kernel command line below:

 

Kernel command line: console=ttyPS0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw earlyprintk rootfstype=ext4 rootwait

As you can see Linux set root as /dev/mmcblk0p2.

What I have to do to using QSPI as rootfs instead?

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
terryo
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
939 Views
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Hi @kolpak,

 

Can I assume you're not using Petalinux? If you are, please clarify, and also clarify which version. 

 

Do you have a root filesystem written into your flash, or are you wanting to use a ramdisk for the root filesystem?

 

Regards, 

Terry

 

0 Kudos
Reply
kolpak
Visitor
Visitor
1,005 Views
Registered: ‎07-25-2018
0 Kudos
Reply