Participant
Participant

Merging Ubuntu rootfs and Petalinux rootfs in Petalinux 2021.01

Jump to solution

Hi,

Vivado version: 2021.01
Petalinux Version: 2021.01

HW: ZCU102

I have successfully run both the petalinux rootfs and the raspberry pi ubuntu rootfs on the ZCU102. But one issue is that when I use the Ubuntu rootfs I am missing any modules or drivers from the petalinux side for things like the onboard DisplayPort etc.

I can extract the rootfs.tar.gz and copy over the lib/modules but how should I merge the file structures as they have different folder names?
Is it simply a matter of "depmod" then modloading the new files once they are moved over or do I need to perform other steps?

My worry is that the uname will be different from the petalinux to ubuntu versions so which one will the ubuntu system be looking for?

Sorry for lots of questions, I have some experience with Linux but this is the first time ive merged two systems together like this.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
aravindb

HI @AntonRG 

That will not work if you simply replace the modules folder in raspberry pi ubuntu file system as this is built with different toolchain. 

It is mandatory that modules & rootfs should built with same toolchain inorder to install the modules.

Not sure this will help, but you can just try to copy all the /lib/modules directory to raspberry pi ubuntu file system & remove existing kernel modules and  run "depmod -a" , then insert the modules.

Thanks & regards

Aravind

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
watari
Professor
Professor

Hi @AntonRG 

What kind of dtb are you using ?