cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

Not able to interpret how to and What to write in system-user.dtsi?

Jump to solution

Hi there,

I'm a newbie in Embedded Linux. As of now I'm just bale to boot up the system with the Petalinux User Guide. I have to configure Kernal, rootfs to enable modules or libraries. 

Wile reading Xilinx-Confluence website for Linux Device Drivers, it asked to make changes in system-user.dtsi which will update the device tree.

Now, here are my some basic questions -  

1. How do I know what to write in system-user.dtsi.?
  2. I would like to know how to generate the script for system-user.dtsi file (basically what to write in user.dtsi)??
  3. Is there any standard file of dtsi / user guide, from which I can copy the required scripts into user.dtsi to make it working.?

Any help in the direction to know How to Write and What to write in system-user.dtsi??  is Appriciated.

I'm working on a USB based camera which I wanted to interface with ZC7020 Zynq 7000.

Looking forward to get quick and positive response.

Thanks and Warm Regard,

Lokesh

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

The cells are discussed here:

https://elinux.org/Device_Tree_Usage

For the address, and the range. If you are using a memory mapped IP (ie connected to your processor), then this will be handled for you by the devicetree generator

I wouldnt just copy and paste from a wiki without understanding what you are doing. You will just make errors.

If you want to test, the syntax and to isolate the build, and compile from petalinux, then use the wiki below:

https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/341082130/Quick+guide+to+Debugging+Device+Tree+Generator+Issues

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Highlighted
Voyager
Voyager

Hi @lokesh_oepl ,