cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
clivewmwalker
Explorer
Explorer

PL reprogramming (Linux)

I’m starting to look at reloading the PL for different purposes, without restarting Linux on our product's Zynq Ultrascale+ MPSoC. I am totally new to this process.

In principle, this is what I am trying to achieve:

• Customer has our product, which could be configured with one of 2 FPGA PL bitstreams: PL1 and PL2
  • Initially, by default, the product is configured with PL1.
  • The user suddenly makes a selection which requires PL2.
  • Without restarting Linux, the PL must be reloaded from PL1 to PL2

Can someone give me the basic principles behind the process I might need to follow to achieve this? Links to the process documentation gratefully received.

After a small amount of googling, and looking through Xilinx wiki pages etc, I sort of conclude (I could be wrong) that this process requires the use of the FPGA manager – which I am looking into. I am also aware that it might involve the usage of partial FPGA reconfiguration, which scares me somewhat. Am I correct? I also see Device Tree Overlays being mentioned quite a lot.

I'm particularly interested in those who have managed to achieve this, and/or Xilinx folks who have worked on this process.

I will keep reading.

Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
watari
Professor
Professor

Hi @clivewmwalker 

>After a small amount of googling, and looking through Xilinx wiki pages etc, I sort of conclude (I could be wrong) that this process requires the use of the FPGA manager – which I am looking into. I am also aware that it might involve the usage of partial FPGA reconfiguration, which scares me somewhat. Am I correct?

Yes.

FPGA manager reload FPGA bit stream to reconfigure it with device tree overlay technology.

Also, you have to understand DFX, too.

Would you refer it ?