UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor ngagnon
Visitor

PetaLinux 2018.2 tools required HOME environment variable been defined

Just to put you in context, I'm fairly new to PetaLinux and I'm taking over a colleague work. We are building in the context of a docker image and while I was performing restructuration of our build process I encounter a problem where tools (e.g. petalinux-util or petalinux-build) reported error such as "mkdir -p '//.PeltaLinux' failed because of permissions. I've googled and search Xilinx community without any information about what was causing my problem.

I've decided to compare changes I've made, looking at output between good and bad build and finally export environment variables to find out my "HOME" environment variable was empty. I did fix the empty HOME issue and now my system is building properly and thought I could save someone else time by sharing my experience.

0 Kudos
4 Replies

Re: PetaLinux 2018.2 tools required HOME environment variable been defined

Hi @ngagnon

Thanks for sharing your answer. But if you can mention why that issue happen. then it will help even more.

Thanks & regards

Aravind

0 Kudos
Visitor ngagnon
Visitor

Hi Aravind,

Sure I can provide the reason it happen. I discover the problem when we attempt to run docker image with a user ID (e.g docker run -u `id -u`:`id -g`) where the ID was not part of the list and there was no home environment variable defined. At this point I was getting an error 'touch //.PetaLinux/.PetaLinux_data' permission denied.