UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Petalinux DHCP setup

Participant

Petalinux DHCP setup

Hi,

i work currently with the Vivado Zynq SpeedWay Petalinux Workshop.

After hours of hard fights with linux i get it working :)

I tried to boot via DHCP server on the host, but my Zedboard was not able download the image.ub file. 

I found no documentation about setting up this DHCP server for Petalinux / Zedboard.

I use Linux Centos7.

I tried some tutorials about seeting up a DHCP server but nothing works.
My Linux Host and the Zedboard are connected to my Network where is a Router, could this be a problem?

I'm very new to linux, i hope you can help me.

Thanks

Max

Scholar

Re: Petalinux DHCP setup

Hi Max,

It sounds like you are confused about DHCP or I'm misunderstanding what you're doing. DHCP is a protocol to allow you to get an IP address from a server rather than using a static IP address.

This has nothing to do with downloading the image.ub from the host, that would be using TFTP in u-boot.

It seems like you need to step back to some of the basics to get a better understanding. I'm not sure what you're real goal is at this point.

Thanks
John

Participant

Hi,

thanks for you fast answer.

Yeah i'm a litte bit confused:)

In some tutorials they first set up a dhcp server than a ftp server an finaly the uboot on the zedboard "or whatever" was able to download the desired image.ub.

Why do they first setup a dhcp server?

I also tried to get a tftp server running on my centos host but uboot was not able to download the image.

My goal is that the uboot loader is able to download the image.ub file over ethernet.

Like they do in the Petalinux Speedway Workshop 02.

Thanks

Max

Scholar

Hi Max,