cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,090 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Unable to change rootfs

Jump to solution

Hallo all,

 

I have installed petalinux and successfully boot. Now I want use ubuntu rootfs because later a software will be installed on board.

I read ug1144 and use the command in page 49.

 

$ cd /media/rootfs
$ tar ubuntu-base-16.04.5-base-arm64.tar.gz
 
Because I have found ubuntu file-system on the website of ubuntu(ubuntu-base-16.04.5-base-arm64). So I copied it in to /media/rootfs of sd card.
But the board still use rootfs of Petalinux.....I don't know why.
 
Does someone have experience?
 
 
Bildschirmfoto vom 2018-10-01 17-01-21.png
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
diego73
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,053 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

@betanken, yes. In the project you are defining the 0p1 partition, and in the boot arg the 0p2. 

Please fix it to 0p2 and let me know.

 

No problems with your English, I perfectly understood.

/* Don't forget to give kudos and/or accept as a solution */

View solution in original post

12 Replies
diego73
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,083 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

Hi @betanken

This scenario could be because you are compiling the rootfs in the ramdisk, so the image.ub will boot the Petalinux rootfs as defined in the kernel boot args, and will ignore what you put int the ext4 partition of the SD card.

Can you check if your rootfs option in Petalinux is set to "SD Card" instead of "ramdisk"?.

 

I've tried ubuntu rootfs on my Zynq 7020 thousand of times and I see no issues.

/* Don't forget to give kudos and/or accept as a solution */
0 Kudos
betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,076 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Hallo @diego73

 

Thanks for reply!

 

I'm using SD card in rootfs. Maybe the settings are wrong? The rootfs of Ubuntu is in 2rd partition of sd card, so perhaps I should change "Device node of sd device" into "/dev/mmcblk0p2"?

 

 I sawed another answer, they solved it use

 

set env bootargs 'console=ttyPS0,115200n8 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw  rootfstype=ext4 rootwait'

 

But its still doesn't for me....

 

Thanks for help and forgive me for my bad english

 

Bildschirmfoto vom 2018-10-01 17-42-51.png
0 Kudos
diego73
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,054 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

@betanken, yes. In the project you are defining the 0p1 partition, and in the boot arg the 0p2. 

Please fix it to 0p2 and let me know.

 

No problems with your English, I perfectly understood.

/* Don't forget to give kudos and/or accept as a solution */

View solution in original post

betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,047 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Hallo @diego73

 

and is it possible to use command like apt-get when I use ubuntu rootfs? 

 

Thanks for reply 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
diego73
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,039 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

Yes, it is possible, just make sure to update the repos first:

$ apt-get update

/* Don't forget to give kudos and/or accept as a solution */
0 Kudos
hokim
Scholar
Scholar
2,029 Views
Registered: ‎10-21-2015

Hi,

There is some booting problem in using original ubuntu base

Use tar.gz output file of the attached script.

It adds additional packages to original tar.gz to remove booting problem.

 

0 Kudos
betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,958 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Hallo @diego73

 

I solved the problem, thanks.

 

May I ask how to configure the network of ubuntu? I mean, I'm using ubuntu rootfs now. I have tried to use $apt-get update, but its failed.

Here the errors:

===================================================================================================

All packages are up to date.
W: Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/dists/xenial/InRelease  Temporary failure resolving 'ports.ubuntu.com'
W: Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/dists/xenial-updates/InRelease  Temporary failure resolving 'ports.ubuntu.com'
W: Failed to fetch http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/dists/xenial-security/InRelease  Temporary failure resolving 'ports.ubuntu.com'
W: Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead

===================================================================================================

 

I found something about configuration of network.

I write the flowing lines in /etc/network/interface.d/eth0,but I think its not enough,maybe I should add address and netmask in it?

                     auto eth0

                     iface eth0 inet static   

 

Thanks a lot for help

0 Kudos
betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,957 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Hallo @hokim

Its not the problem...

 

But thanks for reply

0 Kudos
trigger
Voyager
Voyager
1,939 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2016

Hi@betanken,

 

Several things:

 

You said your problem is solved isn't ?

1. provide more information for others

2. mark the thread as resolved

3. Could you please open a new thread to ask your network question ?

 

PS: i'm not a cops but it's a mess...

 

Cheers,

Trigger

0 Kudos
betanken
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,811 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Hi @trigger

 

sorry I forgot to do it.

Because he @diego73 said that he used ubuntu rootfs many times. And its maybe easy for me to get an answer from him.

 

0 Kudos
trigger
Voyager
Voyager
1,808 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2016
Hi @betanken

No problem ;)

Cheers,
Trigger
0 Kudos
diego73
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,795 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2012

Hi @betanken

I think folks are right, may you open a new thread and I promise I'll put a guide on what you are having problems, if still are present.

 

BTW, thanks for the kudo, I answer much but got few :).

/* Don't forget to give kudos and/or accept as a solution */
0 Kudos