UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor smsunny
Visitor

Using UART/USB for communication in Petalinux on Zybo Z7-10

Hello,

I am very new to Xilinx SoC, so this may sound bit foolish. I am running a bare minimum Petalinux (2019.2) on a zybo Z7-10. I followed the instructions on ug1144 to build petalinux (no bsp, just a zynq ps in bitstream). Everything is in default configuration. I can both SSH into the petalinux and use GtkTerm to establish serial communication using JTAG port.

What I need to do is to send and receive data over either UART or USB. I have a python program running which is trying to collect data from and send command to an arduino. The data/command is simple string. But when I connect the arduino using JTAG J11 or USB port, it does not show up in /dev/tty*. I first thought that I need to enable the USB in kernel. I tried to search how to do that, but couldn't find a definitive answer. In the kernel config, everything that is mentioned here is selected. I tried to some other solutions like editing the system-top.dts, but didn't work as every time I build petalinux project system-top.dts gets overwritten. I am probably looking at the wrong place and getting more confused.

As an alternative, I was thinking to use PL to do the communication and use a USB-to-TTL converter, but then I found that zybo only has TX/RX in JTAG which can only be used by PS. Is there anyway to establish communication between an arduino and PL? I just need to establish send/receive data from FPGA to arduino, PL or PS doesn't really matter.