UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Participant rifo
Participant

fundemantal points about linux on a fpga

Hello all,

I am planning to build an embedded linux system on a Spartan 6 LX45T with support for ethernet, wifi CF card and data storage on a SD card . I have already spent some time with the documents but since I am a beginner, I would like to ask for some basic fundemantal questions to see if I don't have any wrong assumptions.

Thank you in advance for your guidance

1)  Is it possible to access a SD or CF card only via Microblaze and Linux ( that is without using any non-free IP cores). I know that linux has drivers for both SD and CF cards but I am a little bit confused since there are also many IP cores that access SD and CF cards. For example Xilinx has this SystemAce CF  IC on SP605.

2) By using only free IP cores on a Spartan 6 running embedded linux, what would be the maximum data transfer rate over ethernet?

3) If I have custom peripheral that consumes a lot of DDR bandwidth, can I connect this peripheral's output to microblaze and have its DDR interface directly connected to an arbiter before the ddr memory controller core. This way microblaze with linux running on it and the peripheral will share the DDR. Would this be difficult to implement?

4) I have read (on EDK 9.2i Hands on Guide) that EDK designs cannot be simulated with Isim and one has to buy either Modelsim or NCsim. Is this still true? If yes does one need the modelsim simulations a lot when using embedded linux?

I would be most happy to hear your answers/comments about these questions.

Thank you again

rifo

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee