Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
laursand
Contributor
Contributor

linux xilinx kernel new driver dependencies

hi,

I am new to linux/driver development so this will seem like a very basic question but I hope I can get some pointers...

I am trying to interface with a AXI-DMA module inside the Zynq PL. The Kernel linux-xlnx already has a xilinx_axidma.c module (and the resource actually gets mounted fine at boot up).

I need to do some custom things with the AXI-DMA module (for example, have a custom IRQ handling). I also need to simply use it to transfer data (in my case, a S2MM from device->PS).

This might sound super basic, but: how do we write a driver that can depend on another driver? I looked at "linux driver dependency" online - it looks like I should be adding some EXPORT macros to export functions from xilinx_axidma.c. Doesn't seem completely right...

Should I duplicate the xilinx_axidma.c altogether to create a new driver with a different resource name from scratch?

Should I add some EXPORT functions in xilinx_axidma.c, recompile the kernel, then call these from my driver?

Suggestions welcome,

thank you!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
laursand
Contributor
Contributor

I think this is one approach that kind of answers my question:

https://github.com/bmartini/zynq-xdma

The xdma driver creates a dev/xdma node that can be called (from user mode) to configure/start/stop DMA transfers. It accesses (at __init time) the installed dma channels registered in the linux DMA engine framework.

The xilinx_axidma driver provides the low-level layer to the AXI DMA engine and doesn't need to be duplicated/rewritten/customized, nor its functions need to be accessed. Things simply communicate through that linux DMA engine.

I figured I'd post to help other beginners like me understand a bit how drivers can interact with each other, and for anyone to chime in in case this is a completely wrong approach :-)

thanks

0 Kudos
pierucci
Visitor