UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

what's the advantages of petalinux or Yocto?

Jump to solution

Hi,all

I am a newbie , I found some guys use yocto and others guys use petalinux in this forum, what's the advantages of petalinux or yocto?

Thanks in advance

Tom

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Explorer
Explorer

Re: what's the advantages of petalinux or Yocto?

Jump to solution

As mentioned, Yocto is huge and takes a while to build but you could eliminate what you don't need.  It's nice since you can build everything from scratch and there are recipes for most packages you may want.

Petalinux is just to hard to customize and there are to many hidden things.

And the other option, which is what I do, is just a homebrew.  I wrote a shell script which uses a config file that I manage with menuconfig(like the kernel) and it know how to build everything things like the FSBL and boot.bin.  Depending on how functional you want your script this may take some time; however,  I can do exactly what I want with my builds.

jeff

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Observer julian3
Observer

Jump to solution

As far as I understand, there are three common ways to build Linux for Zynq7 in 2016:

1. Using Petalinux (an interface to gcc toolchain for xilinx-linux)
  2. Using Poky/Bitbake/Openembedded (an interface to gcc toolchain for yocto)
  3. Using Xilinx SDK