UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor
16,486 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

My Zynq board ZC702 arrived yesterday :)

My goal is to use "Asymmetric Multi-Processing (AMP) mode with

... FreeRTOS on one core and Linux running on the other core".

 

On "Zynq-7000 SoC Operating Systems" page

(http://www.xilinx.com/products/silicon-devices/soc/zynq-7000/operating-systems/)

I read:

 

"Xilinx provides a pre-canned AMP solution, to simplify your software development on Zynq-7000 EPP platform."

 

I could not find this "pre-canned solution" on Xilinx web-site.

Where is it?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Contributor
Contributor
21,200 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Finally I managed to get Linux and FreeRTOS running on core0 and core1 respectively.

johnmcd of Xilinx gave me Linux/standalone solution. I replaced standalone with

FreeRTOS port - which I downloaded from FreeRTOS web-site. Unfortunately, the

FreeRTOS port was written with the assumption that it will run on core0. I had to

do something to make it run on core1. Then I had to fix some errors. Unfortunately,

I can't remember what all changes I made, but finally I have it working.

 

On FreeRTOS, I used their LED blinking example, but also added one more task

of my own. And with some logic in PL, I could implement a filter. Get input from

XADC and throw filtered output to DAC (on the AMS101 board).

 

I am ok to share this with others, but don't know how to?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
27 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
16,407 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi pvranade,

 

Yes we do have an AMP design (Linux and freeRTOS).
Can you contact your local FAE about the availability of this for you.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
16,399 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Gareth,

 

Thanks!

Will contact Xilinx India now.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

0 Kudos
Visitor davidomoto
Visitor
16,325 Views
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Is it possible to make this AMP design available for download? 

 

I contacted my FAE and asked him specifically about the AMP design as referenced on the Zynq Operating Systems page.  He didn't know anything about it and just told me that FreeRTOS could be downloaded from www.freertos.com.

0 Kudos
Visitor cs00brp
Visitor
16,244 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi, I'm also trying to find the pre-compiled version of freeRTOS for the Zynq board.  Is there one out there?  HAs anyone a link to any useful info about getting freeRTOS working on this chip or is it better just compiling it my self.

 

Still not sure if I just put freeRTOS on both cores or linux + freeRTOS. will be using one core of all the communication between the host PC and the FPGA fabric and the second core to do some softreal time control.

 

Thanks

 

Bren

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
21,201 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Finally I managed to get Linux and FreeRTOS running on core0 and core1 respectively.

johnmcd of Xilinx gave me Linux/standalone solution. I replaced standalone with

FreeRTOS port - which I downloaded from FreeRTOS web-site. Unfortunately, the

FreeRTOS port was written with the assumption that it will run on core0. I had to

do something to make it run on core1. Then I had to fix some errors. Unfortunately,

I can't remember what all changes I made, but finally I have it working.

 

On FreeRTOS, I used their LED blinking example, but also added one more task

of my own. And with some logic in PL, I could implement a filter. Get input from

XADC and throw filtered output to DAC (on the AMS101 board).

 

I am ok to share this with others, but don't know how to?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
Participant madboat
Participant
15,963 Views
Registered: ‎09-14-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution
pvranade,
 
Either of the two things that you mentioned in your previous post (linux & freertos or linux & standalone) would be useful to me. If you've got some sharing method that you developed since you posted let me know. otherwise, I've got up a personal Dropbox that we can use, but to do a file transfer I need an e-mail address. if you don't mind, hit me up at jtrout@picocomputing.com.
 
Jason
0 Kudos
Visitor davidomoto
Visitor
15,930 Views
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

I'm also very interested in the AMP solution.  Maybe you can post your project here:

 

http://www.zedboard.org/projects

 

and myself or someone else can port this over to the ZedBoard.

 

Thanks,

Dave

 

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
15,922 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

madboat, davidomoto

 

Here is link to the compressed project folder:

AMP Linux / FreeRTOS project folder

 

And some notes in this document.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

Observer matteo.geromin
Observer
15,798 Views
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi,

i'm trying to run your project on the Zedboard, with Linux running on core #0 and a baremetal application on core #1.

The application is a simple hello-world.

I just modify my fsbl as you suggest, to make it load u-boot and another binary file. But the result is that only u-boot is running after fsbl.

I also modified ldscrip.ld of my application to reflect the 512MB of ddr ram on the Zedboard.

What are the modification that you made to the application?

You also modified something in u-boot and kernel?

 

ThankYou

Matteo

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
10,807 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Matteo,

 

Sorry, I can't remember what all changes I made.

But if you download the Linux+FreeRTOS project from my

dropbox (link in previous post), then you don't need to

make any changes. You may replace FreeRTOS by

bare metal application if you like.

With this project, the board should boot Linux on core0.

Then at the Linux prompt, type this command:

/mnt/softUart.elf &
It will start softUart application in background.

Then type this command:

/mnt/rwmem.elf 0xfffffff0 0x30000000
By writing 0x30000000 to location 0xfffffff0, the core1

will be started.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

0 Kudos
Observer matteo.geromin
Observer
10,801 Views
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

ThankYou!!!

these are the information that i wanted.

Now i'm able to run Linux baremetal AMP.

 

thanx

Matteo

 

0 Kudos
Visitor dpryan
Visitor
10,698 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi Pramod,

 

I'm having trouble getting your project to build in SDK.

I seems like I may be missing some files as specified in SDK: Xilinx Tools>Repositories

 

These two paths are specified:

D:/MTech/Project/FreeRTOS/Xilinx_Zynq/sw/repo
D:/MTech/Project/Zynq_Projects/amp_14.3/src_amp/sdk_repo

 

I resolved the first one by pointing it to the files I found here:

http://interactive.freertos.org/entries/21922816-updated-xilinx-freertos-port-for-zynq-to-sdk-14-2-release

I updated the tcl and mld file to use "standalone_v3_07_a" as specified in the documentation so it would build with 14.3

 

However, I'm not sure what files are supposed to be at the second path. Everthing in your project builds except for  amp_cpu1_bsp, which cannot find os standalone_amp 3.07.a

Is this related to the second path?

 

Thanks,

David

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
10,691 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

David,

 

Yes, it is related to the second path.

That is what mcdougall of Xilinx had given me.

I replaced the "standalone" part with FreeRTOS.

I was assuming that the large zip file I shared via dropbox

includes everything needed - since others were able to

build from that successfully. Do you think some files

are missing?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

0 Kudos
Visitor dpryan
Visitor
10,682 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi Pramod,

 

I really think the source files are missing.

I don't know how Matteo (and possibly others) got it working without it.

 

I unzipped your projected and searched the contents of all files for "standalone_amp."

 

That turned up a bunch of *.o files in this directory which basically just had the missing "repository path" embedded in the compiled object code:

\amp_linux_freertos\amp_linux_freertos.sdk\SDK\SDK_Export\amp_cpu1_bsp\ps7_cortexa9_1\libsrc\standalone_amp_v3_07_a\src\*.o files

 

The only other mention of standalone_amp was this block in SDK_Export\amp_cpu1_bsp\system.mss:

BEGIN OS
 PARAMETER OS_NAME = standalone_amp
 PARAMETER OS_VER = 3.07.a
 PARAMETER PROC_INSTANCE = ps7_cortexa9_1
END

 That block is what is causing the problem since it can't find standalone_amp.

 

Perhaps there is a way to make the missing standalone_amp .mld file from the object code, but I think the source files are missing which makes it impossible to clean/rebuild.

 

What do you think?

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
10,673 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

David,

 

Not sure if this will help, but I am attaching the folder

D:\MTech\Project\Zynq_Projects\amp_14.3\src_amp\sdk_repo


Let me know if something else is missing too.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

Visitor dpryan
Visitor
10,657 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Thanks Pramod!

 

That was exactly what I needed. Everything in SDK compiles now.

 

-David

0 Kudos
Visitor dpryan
Visitor
10,506 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi Pramod,

 

Can you please post your device tree source (dts) file? I'm trying to get this running on the Zedboard which requires an entirely different device tree, but I'd like to see what changes you made (maxcpus=1, etc.)

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
10,493 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

dpryan,

 

Here is dts file.

I did not create or even edit it.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

Adventurer
Adventurer
10,285 Views
Registered: ‎10-29-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hiee pramod

 

what changes does it require to run ur prjct in 14.4? is there any? One more question can I do posix programming like xilkernel in linux using pthread library..do u have tried?is it possible

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
8,693 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Tusu,

 

I opened the same project in 14.4 and it works.

Seems that no changes are needed.

 

I did not modify any drivers or kernel level stuff.

But I used pthread library in my user space application and it works well.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,692 Views
Registered: ‎10-29-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hiee pramod

 

Thanx for ur rapid reply....

 

" But I used pthread library in my user space application and it works well."

 

need little bit explanation amonge these...My linux is booting from sd card of zynq and in sdk I have to write the application by selecting linux as my os...when I shall create a blank c project in linux...Am i have to just include "Pthread.h" and write the subsequent posix pthread_create(), is it enough that my code will build and shows thread are created? does it enough.....share just the format of ur application which executed on linux using pthread if possible

 

regards

Tusu

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
8,682 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Tusu,

 

Yes, that is exactly how I did it. e.g.

	if (pthread_create(&tid, NULL, &doStdIn, NULL) != 0)
	{
		printf("Error while creating thread!\n") ;
	}
	else
	{
		printf("Thread created successfully!\n") ;
	}

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,662 Views
Registered: ‎10-29-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hiee

 

Thanx..Pthread works for me too. Here u have talk aboout AMP soln but I need SMP..let me clear my confusions....The linux which I have booted from sd card is it running on dual ARM core? I mean same linux on both the core? if yes, then how it can be done that one part of my application runnig on cpu 0 and another part running on cpu1 then how these two aplication could communicate? via shared memory?

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
8,062 Views
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

The links had been broken for some time.

Here are new links.

AMP Linux / FreeRTOS project folder

 

Some notes in this document

 

But the above solution was made in Dec. 2012 - when no reference design

was available from Xilinx. Now I suspect better reference designs

are available from Xilinx - may be XAPP1078 ?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

0 Kudos
Visitor prasanna_mn
Visitor
4,774 Views
Registered: ‎11-10-2016

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi

 

I am using Xilinx Tools V 2016.2 and petalinux v2016.2. I need to boot linux on cpu0 and freertos on cpu1.

I am able to boot linux on cpu0. I am not getting how to do amp. I followe ug1156. only linux is booting on cpu0, can any one help me out in booting amp on zynq zc702.

 

Thanks in advance

prasanna

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,765 Views
Registered: ‎02-01-2008

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Also take a look at UG1186

0 Kudos
Visitor rsgrimes
Visitor
3,850 Views
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Jump to solution

Hi Prasanna,

 

Did you ever get this working?  I'm trying to get the same thing working on a MicroZed board, using 2016.2 Vivado and PetaLinux.  I can't figure out what to do, beyond getting a simple one-core Linux build using the MicroZed BSP as a starting point.

0 Kudos