UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Reply

where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Accepted Solution Solved
Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
Accepted Solution

where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi,

 

My Zynq board ZC702 arrived yesterday :)

My goal is to use "Asymmetric Multi-Processing (AMP) mode with

... FreeRTOS on one core and Linux running on the other core".

 

On "Zynq-7000 SoC Operating Systems" page

(http://www.xilinx.com/products/silicon-devices/soc/zynq-7000/operating-systems/)

I read:

 

"Xilinx provides a pre-canned AMP solution, to simplify your software development on Zynq-7000 EPP platform."

 

I could not find this "pre-canned solution" on Xilinx web-site.

Where is it?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 


Accepted Solutions
Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi,

 

Finally I managed to get Linux and FreeRTOS running on core0 and core1 respectively.

johnmcd of Xilinx gave me Linux/standalone solution. I replaced standalone with

FreeRTOS port - which I downloaded from FreeRTOS web-site. Unfortunately, the

FreeRTOS port was written with the assumption that it will run on core0. I had to

do something to make it run on core1. Then I had to fix some errors. Unfortunately,

I can't remember what all changes I made, but finally I have it working.

 

On FreeRTOS, I used their LED blinking example, but also added one more task

of my own. And with some logic in PL, I could implement a filter. Get input from

XADC and throw filtered output to DAC (on the AMS101 board).

 

I am ok to share this with others, but don't know how to?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Xilinx Employee
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi pvranade,

 

Yes we do have an AMP design (Linux and freeRTOS).
Can you contact your local FAE about the availability of this for you.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Gareth,

 

Thanks!

Will contact Xilinx India now.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

Visitor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Is it possible to make this AMP design available for download? 

 

I contacted my FAE and asked him specifically about the AMP design as referenced on the Zynq Operating Systems page.  He didn't know anything about it and just told me that FreeRTOS could be downloaded from www.freertos.com.

Visitor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi, I'm also trying to find the pre-compiled version of freeRTOS for the Zynq board.  Is there one out there?  HAs anyone a link to any useful info about getting freeRTOS working on this chip or is it better just compiling it my self.

 

Still not sure if I just put freeRTOS on both cores or linux + freeRTOS. will be using one core of all the communication between the host PC and the FPGA fabric and the second core to do some softreal time control.

 

Thanks

 

Bren

Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi,

 

Finally I managed to get Linux and FreeRTOS running on core0 and core1 respectively.

johnmcd of Xilinx gave me Linux/standalone solution. I replaced standalone with

FreeRTOS port - which I downloaded from FreeRTOS web-site. Unfortunately, the

FreeRTOS port was written with the assumption that it will run on core0. I had to

do something to make it run on core1. Then I had to fix some errors. Unfortunately,

I can't remember what all changes I made, but finally I have it working.

 

On FreeRTOS, I used their LED blinking example, but also added one more task

of my own. And with some logic in PL, I could implement a filter. Get input from

XADC and throw filtered output to DAC (on the AMS101 board).

 

I am ok to share this with others, but don't know how to?

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

 

Participant
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-14-2010

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

pvranade,
 
Either of the two things that you mentioned in your previous post (linux & freertos or linux & standalone) would be useful to me. If you've got some sharing method that you developed since you posted let me know. otherwise, I've got up a personal Dropbox that we can use, but to do a file transfer I need an e-mail address. if you don't mind, hit me up at jtrout@picocomputing.com.
 
Jason
Visitor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

I'm also very interested in the AMP solution.  Maybe you can post your project here:

 

http://www.zedboard.org/projects

 

and myself or someone else can port this over to the ZedBoard.

 

Thanks,

Dave

 

Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-18-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

madboat, davidomoto

 

Here is link to the compressed project folder:

AMP Linux / FreeRTOS project folder

 

And some notes in this document.

 

Regards,

 

Pramod Ranade

Observer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-20-2012

Re: where is pre-canned AMP solution (Linux + FreeRTOS)?

Hi,

i'm trying to run your project on the Zedboard, with Linux running on core #0 and a baremetal application on core #1.

The application is a simple hello-world.

I just modify my fsbl as you suggest, to make it load u-boot and another binary file. But the result is that only u-boot is running after fsbl.

I also modified ldscrip.ld of my application to reflect the 512MB of ddr ram on the Zedboard.

What are the modification that you made to the application?

You also modified something in u-boot and kernel?

 

ThankYou

Matteo