UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems branching to dynamically loaded routine using bare metal approach

Jump to solution

I've only been working with the Zynq/Arm Cortex A9 for a few months (but I have 20+ years experience writing embedded code on other processors/DSPs) so bear with me on my long-winded explanation.  My application is a bare-metal monitor program that tests various functions of the Zynq SoC using commands transmitted over UART. The monitor is a "port" of a prior monitor written for a different processor family.   The monitor allows probing memory, hardware registers, etc and also provides the capability to upload programs dynamically using text-based (S-record) files to specific locations in memory and then branching to that routine.  I've gotten all of the functionality of the monitor to work using a Zedboard except for the "branching" part and have hit a wall.  Please don't recommend building all of the routines into the monitor or using an OS because those aren't options available to me or I would have done that already.