UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor codesmagic
Visitor
440 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2019

Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

Hi,

I want to make a frame from 5x 10/100Base Ethernet transceivers and send it through a Gigabit Ethernet.

Is it possible to implement Soft MACs for 10/100Base Ethernet transceivers and rout its signals to the PHY IC through usual ports of FPGA or I should use ISERDES/OSERDES Transceivers?

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
358 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

Ok, I see your problem  now, its not just Ethernet.

As a point of referance, a managed switch, you can do the sort of thing with ethernet you want to do.

If you want to work with 4 USB as well as CAN and Ethernet, sounds like you want a Processor not an FPGA .

If you do an FPGA, it will be a processor inside, maybe doen in many different fighting state machines,

 

The sort of thing they do for trading floor processors,

 

10/100 Ethernet, is ging to come into the FPGA on an external PHY,

  such as this

https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/KSZ8081

most ( all ) of the PHYs talk using the RMII interface spec to the FPGA / Processor,

    which is a 50 Mhz interface, no need for highspeed SreDes on th FPGA,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Media-independent_interface#Reduced_media-independent_interface

 

You would then have your MAC in the FPGA code, one for each PHY.

something like this

https://www.xilinx.com/products/intellectual-property/axi_ethernetlite.html

 

 

Note if your 10/100 data rate is low, there are SPI <=> Ethernet chips.

  such as these

https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/en022889

then you would just have an SPI interface between the FPGA and th echip, the MAC and PHY is now done for you

 

for the Gbit ethernet , there are many optoins, from using the built in , to off chip MAC and or PHY

https://www.xilinx.com/products/technology/ethernet.html

 

  

 

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
7 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
421 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution
can you post a picture of the idea ?

Sounds like you have 5 slow ethernet ports, coming into an FPGA,
and you want to send that out on one fats Ethernet port

Have you considered just using an off the shelf giga bit switch,

https://www.digikey.co.uk/product-detail/en/tripp-lite/NG5P/TL1546-ND/6204967

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
Visitor codesmagic
Visitor
412 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2019

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

toxil.png

Thanks for reply.

As its clear acording to the picture picture I can't use Ethernet Switch for whole designe.

I don't have access to the Low Rate configuration, then I can't change their destination IP to the same one and use Eth. Switch and just connect one instead of five to the FPGA.

 

0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
359 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

Ok, I see your problem  now, its not just Ethernet.

As a point of referance, a managed switch, you can do the sort of thing with ethernet you want to do.

If you want to work with 4 USB as well as CAN and Ethernet, sounds like you want a Processor not an FPGA .

If you do an FPGA, it will be a processor inside, maybe doen in many different fighting state machines,

 

The sort of thing they do for trading floor processors,

 

10/100 Ethernet, is ging to come into the FPGA on an external PHY,

  such as this

https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/KSZ8081

most ( all ) of the PHYs talk using the RMII interface spec to the FPGA / Processor,

    which is a 50 Mhz interface, no need for highspeed SreDes on th FPGA,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Media-independent_interface#Reduced_media-independent_interface

 

You would then have your MAC in the FPGA code, one for each PHY.

something like this

https://www.xilinx.com/products/intellectual-property/axi_ethernetlite.html

 

 

Note if your 10/100 data rate is low, there are SPI <=> Ethernet chips.

  such as these

https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/en022889

then you would just have an SPI interface between the FPGA and th echip, the MAC and PHY is now done for you

 

for the Gbit ethernet , there are many optoins, from using the built in , to off chip MAC and or PHY

https://www.xilinx.com/products/technology/ethernet.html

 

  

 

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
Visitor codesmagic
Visitor
347 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2019

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

@drjohnsmith wrote:

 

You would then have your MAC in the FPGA code, one for each PHY.

something like this

https://www.xilinx.com/products/intellectual-property/axi_ethernetlite.htm

 

  

 

 

 


Thanks for reply.

I don't want use processor for ethernet tranceivers. I just want to buffer incoming data and insert it in to the frame.

Do I have to use DMA to build the frame?

Otherwise I don't need to use "AXI" Ethernet, as I think.

0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
332 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

Are you going to write your own MAC for the PHY in the  FPGA

  in that case, you can do what you want,

    if its an off the shelf MAC, then its going to be AXI

Info on what the MAC does

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medium_access_control

 

Re DMA. is just a way to move data from one memory area to another,

     it is not a requirment of Ethernet just one of many methods.

 

You can build wthernet frames using state machines.

 

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
Visitor codesmagic
Visitor
305 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2019

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

Thanks for reply.

I didn't know that we don't have direct access to the internal FIFO of IPs like Tri Mode MAC Ethernet, AXI Ethernet.

May I ask you to suggest me an architecture in a picture to build the frame without using processor? (Please just consider 250 additional bits instead of USB and CAN medias)

0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
292 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Multiple Ethernet Transceivers

Jump to solution

sorry, cant add much more without doing the design.

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos