UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer caobin
Observer
10,885 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

I am testing xgmac core with pcs_pma core on vc709. 

 

MAC1 receives signal by sfp+ module, and MAC1's rx bus is connected to MAC0's transmit engine; however, it seems that MAC0 transmit engine is not working; its output signal txd on xgmii is fixed to 0x0200009c 0200009c with txc=0x11.

 

When I connect the MAC1's rx bus to its own mac tx bus, MAC1's tx output is working.

 

When I use a splitter to split some optical signal from MAC0's sfp+ transmitter into MAC0's sfp+ receiver, the MAC0's transmit engine is working, and optical signals can be transmitted through MAC1's sfp+ receiver to MAC0's sfp+ transmitter, and go back to the data analyzer.

 

It seems that I could not force MAC0's tx engine work when there is no light signal on its rx sfp+ module. How can I force the mac tx engine work even if there is no light signal on its rx sfp+ module? 

 

Can anyone give me suggestions?

 

Best Regards,

James

 

 

 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Observer caobin
Observer
10,882 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

more information about this topic:

MAC configuration is not implemented. I just let the axi-lite interface afloat except the axi clock and reset signals.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,878 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

Hi

 

You can tie the signal detect input to the 10G PCS PMA core to 1 if you are not connecting to the optical module.

 

Also have a look at PG068 debugging section to have more details on remote fault condition.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer caobin
Observer
10,842 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

Hi Satish,

Thanks for your suggestion.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,812 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

Hi

 

 

The core will transmit the remote fault bytes 0x0200009c 0200009c when it's receiver  is in local fault state.

 

Configure the Fault Inhibit bit to 1 in the Reconciliation Sublayer Configuration Word register so that it tranmits the data.

 

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
Observer caobin
Observer
9,946 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

thanks Satish, it is exactly as what you said.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,945 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: VC709 two xgmac, one receive, one transmit; transmit mac no output

Hi

 

Glad to know that the design is working now.

 

Please close the thread by marking the post which answered as the solution,so that is will be useful for others.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos