cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ajaykumar141229
Contributor
Contributor
432 Views
Registered: ‎05-20-2019

ZynqMP 1G SGMII PS Ethernet status is active but ping is not working

Hello all,

I am facing an issue running ping on 1G PS ethernet. we are using TI83867 phy with no straps connected so the phy address is zero. In boot log i got the following log.

macb ff0c0000.ethernet: Not enabling partial store and forward


libphy: MACB_mii_bus: probed


TI DP83867 ff0c0000.ethernet-ffffffff:00: attached PHY driver [TI DP83867] (mii_bus:phy_addr=ff0c0000.ethernet-ffffffff:00, irq=POLL)


macb ff0c0000.ethernet eth1: Cadence GEM rev 0x50070106 at 0xff0c0000 irq 32 (00:0a:35:00:22:01

and the device tree entry is

&gem1 {
phy-handle = <&phy0>;
phy-mode = "sgmii";
phy0: phy0{
reg = <0x0>;
ti,rx-internal-delay = <0x8>;
ti,tx-internal-delay = <0xa>;
ti,fifo-depth = <0x1>;
};
};

i checked the PCS status register too, in that bit 2 (link status bit) its showing zero.after booting the output of the ifconfig is 

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0A:35:00:22:01
inet addr:182.168.1.40 Bcast:182.168.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20a:35ff:fe00:2201/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:32

No packets are coming out of the port as TX packets count is showing always zero.

please help me to get out of this issue,i don't know how to debug this further.

 

Regards,

CN Ajay kumar

0 Kudos
3 Replies
nanz
Moderator
Moderator
372 Views
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Hi @ajaykumar141229 ,

Could you please refer to this thread and see if it helps?

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Ethernet/Howto-configure-Linux-device-tree-for-Ethernet-with-TI-DP83867/m-p/1180952


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

If starting with Versal take a look at our Versal Design Process Hub and our Versal Blogs and our Versal Ethernet Sticky Note.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
ajaykumar141229
Contributor
Contributor
352 Views
Registered: ‎05-20-2019

Hi @nanz ,

Thank you for your reply,i already tried that solution and unfortunately it didn't work me.i added the device tree node same as he mentioned in that thread but the status is same.in interfaces list its showing RUNNING bu t unable to ping.

and also i don't know how to check ethernet ping at u-boot to just verify whether it is linux driver problem or something else.please point out me to a link that will explain checking ethernet at u-boot.

Regards,

CN Ajay Kumar

0 Kudos
nanz
Moderator
Moderator
335 Views
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Hi @ajaykumar141229 ,

You can run "mii info" and "dhcp" at uboot to see if you could access the PHY registers and check out a valid IP address. 

Uboot will need the "is-internal-pcspma" node in DTS to enable PCS and AN to make PS SGMII work. 


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

If starting with Versal take a look at our Versal Design Process Hub and our Versal Blogs and our Versal Ethernet Sticky Note.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------