cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

cpri v8.9 external loopback

I am new to CPRI and GTX related designs, so please forgive any silly question I going to ask.

I am working on the CPRI example design, with a Kintex 7 FPGA.

I have one Cpri with core implemented inside driving clocks to 3 other Cpri's all of them configured in master mode. 

I am performing the following test –

1.insert optic loopback to the CPRI

2.read status code and alarm register (0x0)

3.value should be 0xf (link is up)

The issue that I see is that sometimes after system initiate one or two of the CPRI’s are reporting 0x11(Attempting L1 sync) value instead 0xf,

I want to understand why this happens maybe the reset sequence is wrong …..

Please advice

P.S. I have see that clocks driven from Cpri 1 locked before reset release of the other Cpri's 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

ratnery@corning.com 

What's the line rate you want to run for 4 CPRIs?

I'm still a bit confused about your system structure. All the CPRIs are master, what is connected at Slave side? Are 4 CPRI lanes related or totally independent to each other?

If you set all CPRI to internal loopback, does it work? For L1 sync status, it's master and slave trying to negotiate a line bit rate supported by both master and slave.

For 4 CPRI sharing clocks structure, you can take a look at Figure 4‐14 of CPRI PG056, and double check if connection is correct.

0 Kudos
Highlighted

Hi and Thanks for the reply,

The line rate that I use is 10Gbps.

every Cpri is tottaly independent to each other and In the interface of each SFP I insert optic loopback.

The qustion is :

If I have 2 Independent Cpri that receives the same clock and connected in a similiar way,

so how can I see after reset diffrent status from them ?

status of one is 0xf and status of the other is "attempting L1 sync"