UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor derekf66
Visitor

Accessing Clock on VC7203 Eval Board

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am using the VC7203 Eval Board and Vivado 2015.1.  I am new to FPGAs and was able to upload a very simple combinational logic program that utilizes the user i/o leds and buttons.

I am now trying to create a similarly simple program that uses a clock as an input.  I am trying to use the "Regional Clock" from the Superclock Module on pin K19 but whenever I run it the always@(posedge clk) loop is never run which tells me that the clock is not hooked up right.  The code works fine in simulations.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor derekf66
Visitor

Re: Accessing Clock on VC7203 Eval Board

Jump to solution

I finally resolved the issue.  Because I'm new to FPGAs I didn't realize that I had to use both inputs of the differential system clock on pins E19 and E18 and use IBUFGDS instantiation in my code to generate my clock signal.  I thought I had read somewhere that I only needed to use pin E19 if I didn't care about the benefits of a differential clock.

Thank you all for your input.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Jump to solution

Hi,

If you are looking to simply test any sequenctial logic and clock, why don't you use system clock ?

On Vc7203 board 200 MHz 2.5V LVDS Oscillator is present.

You can directly use this clock to test your logic.

Just assign your input clock to FPGA E19 pin and check your sequential logic.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Jump to solution
Did you program the superclock module on VC7203?