UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

Clocks of the Evaluation board KC705

Hi, I'm Jose and I'm a bit new with the use of FPGA.

I have an Evaluation board KC705, and I'd like to know if is possible to generate or create a clock of the frequency I wish. For example, the board has a 200 MHz system clock, but if I'd need 500MHz there exist the possibility of get it? how? any documentation do you recommend for it ?

thanks for any help

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Clocks of the Evaluation board KC705

Hi jose,

You can find on the board's User Guide (UG810, page 29) an introduction to U45, a Programmable User Clock Source (Si570).

It can be programmed to frequencies from 10 MHz to 810 MHz, using I2C (address 0x5D).

RDF0176 has bitfiles for several Fixed Frequencies or you can create your own bitfile with the Design Files from RDF0175.

Thanks,
Andres

@jose09621 

The KC705 evaluation board has a Kintex-7 FPGA.  The 200MHz clock that you mentioned is the system clock for this FPGA.  After this system clock enters the FPGA, we usually route it to a Clock Management Tile (CMT) found inside the FPGA.  The CMT (also called MMCM or PLL) can be setup to create a 500MHz clock (or to create multiple clocks) from the 200MHz clock.

Setting up the CMT to create the 500MHz clock (and other clocks) is best done with the Xilinx IP called the Clocking Wizard, which you can read about in Xilinx document, PG065.