UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie mariskahime

USB interface on CoolRunner-II CPLD Starter Kit (newbie question)

Dear friends, 

as a total amateur, I would like to ask a question about interfacing my CoolRunner-II CPLD Starter Kit via the on-board USB port. Is it possible to use the on-board USB device for programming the CPLD and afterwards utlitize it as a communication interface of the implemented application? If it is possible, how should I do it? :) Or do I need to implement an extra communication interface? 

Thank you in advance, Maria.

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Visitor russosv
Visitor

Re: USB interface on CoolRunner-II CPLD Starter Kit (newbie question)

Hi Maria,

I don't have any definitive answers; just a [somewhat] educated guess for you. Let me preface this by saying I have no experience with using USB cores, but I do know they exist (found some at opencores.org). I do have a little experience with USB communication though.

I was about to say "probably not" until I stumbled on this and this. These relate to the Xilinx 3E Starter Kit, which apparently uses a Cypress CY7C68013A EZ-USB, with proprietary firmware, to communicate with the JTAG chain.  These projects appear to circumvent that by using a custom firmware in the Cypress chip.