UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor ethanzhu
Visitor
13,581 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2014

VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

I have a VC707 Evaluation board which I have been programming using a Xilinx Platform Cable USB II.  This has been working fine.

 However, when I try and connect a FMC116 to either of the FMC sockets on the evaluation board I am unable to program the FPGA.  

 

PROGRESS_START - Starting Operation.
INFO:iMPACT:583 - '1': The idcode read from the device does not match
the idcode in the bsdl File.
INFO:iMPACT:1578 - '1':  Device IDCODE :        00000000000000000000000000000000
INFO:iMPACT:1579 - '1': Expected IDCODE:    00000011011010000111000010010011

 

And also shows "Program failed"

 

I think the problem should be referred to "The attached FMC card must implement a TDI-to-TDO connection via a device or bypass jumper to ensure that the JTAG chain connects to the FPGA U1." on the page 26 of "ug885_VC707_Eval_Bd".

 
But I don't find the bypass jumper, could you tell me which jumper is?
Or if this is not the solution of the problem, could you tell how can I fix that, please?

 

Best,

Ethan

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,578 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

It is not on the VC707, it needs to be on the FMC module.  Contact the vendor of the FMC116.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
13,159 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2009

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

Hello,

 

Have you found a solution?

 

I have exactly the same problem...

 

Lefteris

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
13,157 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2009

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

Hello,

 

Have you found a solution?

 

I have exactly the same problem...

 

Lefteris

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,147 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

You need to talk to the company that made the module.  It is not compliant with the FMC specification.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Visitor pkortekaas
Visitor
12,876 Views
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

It is allowed and compliant to the standard to use the JTAG chain. There is no requirement in the FMC standard that says the module should be able to support a JTAG bypass. Most of 4DSP modules however provide a build option to connect TDI and TDO which would be a proper work around for this issue. Please contact 4DSP technical support so we can help.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,867 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

> There is no requirement in the FMC standard that says the module should be able to support a JTAG bypass.

 

This is incorrect.

 

Rule 5.62: The FMC module shall connect TDI to TDO, if the module does not use the JTAG interface.

 

If the FMC module does not implement the rule it is not compliant.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Visitor pkortekaas
Visitor
12,848 Views
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

All 4DSP FMC products comply with this rule. If JTAG is not used, then TDI is connected to TDO. However if JTAG is used, then additional devices will show up in the chain. The issue seems to be with EDK no being able to support additional devices in the chain. Other tools, among which Impact, ChipScope and Vivado do not have this issue.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,832 Views
Registered: ‎01-03-2008

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

The OP was using iMPACT, not EDK. If the 4DSP FMC-116, has this connection there shouldn't be a problem. Both users that had the issue never came back to this thread with any follow up posts, so what ever the issue was it seems to been resolved.
------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com
Adventurer
Adventurer
12,657 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2009

Re: VC707 and FMC-116 A/D Board

Hello,

 

I changed the etc/download.cmd file to assign the bitfile in JTAG number 2 (assignfile -p 2 -file implementation/download.bit) and now i am able to download the bit file. I tried a Chipscope design also and i got the expected results in my registers...

 

It seems that this is the solution in an EDK design...

 

Regards,

 

Lefteris

0 Kudos