UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtex-7 FPGA VC707 Datasheet (v1.8) P60 FMC speed rating

Hi, 

I'm a student working on a research project. I'm having a bit questions regarding the VC707 datasheet, and really appreciated if I could find solution from this forum.

Backgrond: I am currently designing a customized ADC Eval-Board that can interface with Xilinx FPGA Board for DSP via FMC connectors, so effectively, I think I'm building a FMC daughter card for the FPGA. We are currently investigating the possibility to choose VC707 as our DSP board, and find out whether the FPGA board is fast enough to handle all the data coming from FMC ports. 

The ADC Eval-Board I'm building contains 16 ADC chips operate in interleaving. Each ADC chip outputs 4-bit wide (D0~D3), twos complement, signal data rate, LVDS data at 640 MSPS, plus a differential Data-Clock-Output (DCO+/-) signal to provide latch timing with receiving logic. There is also a Overrange (OR+/-) condition signal output, but it should be at a much lower frequency if the over range condition doesn't occur. 

Image 4.jpg 

I'm planning to use 2 FMC (HPC) ports to interface all the outputs from 16 ADC chips. So, each FMC port will handle 48 pairs of differential signals (34 LA pairs + 14 HA pairs). 

Question:

1. On page 60 of the VC707 User Guide (v1.8), I found the signaling speed ratings, which says "(Differential) Optimal Vertical: 9GHz, Optimal Horizontal: 16GHz, High Density Vertical 7GHz" Could anyone help specify what does "vertical", "horizontal", and "high density vertical" means?