UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor walstra
Visitor
40,458 Views
Registered: ‎04-25-2008

program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

We bought an EDK box which contained a spartan3a dsp 1800 board. The booklet is about another board but anyway I installed xps and compiled a simple example project. It can be downloaded into the board but nothing happens. The board shows kind of test software but not the project I would like to see. I changed all possible positions of JP9 but this only leads to no operation at all.

Anybody some basic information how to run "hello world" on this board with a microblaze. Documentation is non existent unfortunately.

 

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Voyager
Voyager
40,445 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Documentation for the board itself is available here:

  www.xilinx.com/s3adspstarter

  http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/spartan-3a_dsp_board_and_kit_documentation.htm

 

The EDK version of the kit has more documentation and designs here:

  http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3a_sd1800a_ref_designs/1800A_ref_designs.htm

The "Flash Memory Bootloading Using SPI with Spartan-3A DSP 1800A Starter Platform" design includes a Hello World design.

 

You can also see a few more designs for this board posted on the Avnet Design Resource Center (www.em.avnet.com/drc), specifically, here:

  https://www.em.avnet.com/common/filetree/0,2740,RID%253D0%2526CID%253D42106%2526CCD%253DUSA%2526SID%253D32214%2526DID%253DDF2%2526LID%253D32232%2526PVW%253D%2526PNT%253D%2526BID%253DDF2%2526CTP%253DSTA,00.html

 

Bryan

 

 

0 Kudos
Visitor andisa-8
Visitor
37,297 Views
Registered: ‎10-20-2008

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Isn't it possible to program the SPI flash through the FPGA utilizing the JTAG interface?!?!?

The QH25F640S33 SPI flash isn't available as an option when adding a SPI flash in impact whitch makes me wounder....

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
37,292 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

iMPACT does have the capability to program SPI Flash through the FPGA's JTAG interface.  This is called Indirect SPI Programming.  Unfortunately, iMPACT limits the support on this feature to:

  -- Numonyx M25P, M25PE, and M45PE

  -- Atmel AT45DB

You can read more about this from the following sources:

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp974.pdf

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/31088.htm

http://toolbox.xilinx.com/docsan/xilinx10/isehelp/hh_goto.htm#pim_p_configuring_spi_or_bpi_through_fpga.htm

 

Bryan

 

0 Kudos
Visitor andisa-8
Visitor
37,283 Views
Registered: ‎10-20-2008

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/31088.htm
Is this ridiculous or what!
Why the (bad word) are XILINX selling brand new starter platforms with an old SPI flash device that they have no intentions of supporting. That’s just sad...

I think the parallel flash is supported for indirect flash programming so I’ll try that one instead.

Does anyone know if it works?

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
37,266 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

The board was designed during the summer of 2007, and it has been in production for over a year now. At the time of the design, Intel and ST Micro had not yet merged into Numonyx. At the time of the board design, one flash supplier was chosen for both serial and parallel Flash. Given that iMPACT supported Atmel and ST Micro for serial Flash and Intel for parallel Flash, there was no supplier that had both serial and parallel Flash that was iMPACT-supported. A choice was made to use Intel, which had the only iMPACT-supported parallel Flash.

 

When Numonyx merged ST Micro and Intel's Flash lines in 2008, Numonyx decided to only continue with one serial Flash line, and the former ST Micro serial Flash was chosen, which made the S33 as not recommended for new design.

 

I know that doesn't make your job any easier now. Hopefully you can understand the reasoning. Xilinx has provided a Direct Programming Method, which is described in http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1053.pdf. This application note was written for ISE 9.2, so you may need to get a new version of the XIP utility for 10.1 from Xilinx support.

 

Also, the S33 footprint (SOIC16) is footprint compatible with the Numonyx M25P and M25PX. Although I haven't personally tried, it looks like you could replace the S33 with the M25. See http://www.numonyx.com/Documents/Application%20Notes/314816_HW-868_AN.pdf

 

Bryan

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor cederom
Visitor
34,867 Views
Registered: ‎01-25-2010

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

This is not funny - I have bought Xilinx Spartan 3A DSP kit in 2009 and still there is a S33 Flash memory inside. So how it is with the "new designs" and backward compatibility in Xilinx huh? The DevelKit has Xilinx emblem on it, I have Xilinx ISE 11.4 installed and still there is no support for chip residing on devices that are being sold by Xilinx as a DevelKits? What you say looks a bit like "you have bought our Xilinx car, but wheels are square and so not recommended for new designs" and still you sell those square-wheel-cars :-( Can you confirm that new Numonyx chips are fully cimpatibile with QH25J640S33? Which one of them is replacement part and can be selected in ISE iMPACT to succesfully flash the old S33 chip? I am interested only in indirect programming method with SVF file that later will be uploaded into the FPGA with some external JTAG cable.

Message Edited by cederom on 01-25-2010 09:01 AM
0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
34,827 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: program upload on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

I have a board with the M25P64 SO16 device installed instead of the S33 at site U16.  I just verified with iMPACT 11.4 that it can perform indirect programming of that device using a Platform Cable USB-II. 

 

I suspect anything in this family large enough to hold the 1800A bitstream will likewise work.  The 16, 64, and 128 are all in stock at Avnet in the U.S.

 

http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/em/EMController/Flash/Numonyx/M25P16-VMF6P/_/R-2534081/A-2534081/An-0?action=part&catalogId=500201&langId=-1&storeId=500201

http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/em/EMController/Flash/Numonyx/M25P64-VMF6P/_/R-3565361/A-3565361/An-0?action=part&catalogId=500201&langId=-1&storeId=500201

http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/em/EMController/Flash/Numonyx/M25P128-VMF6P/_/R-4404668/A-4404668/An-0?action=part&catalogId=500201&langId=-1&storeId=500201

 

For those of you that are satisfied with using a command-line, direct-spi programming method with JTAG Cable and flyleads, an update for programming the S33 in 10.1.03 or later, which I verified with 11.4 drivers today, is posted at www.em.avnet.com/spartan3a-dsp --> Support Files & Downloads --> > Programming the Intel S33 Flash

 

Bryan

0 Kudos
Visitor sraja
Visitor
34,427 Views
Registered: ‎03-26-2010

Re: mfg_code error on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Dear ,

 

 

Downloaded the file: Xil3S1800ADSP_Rev1_serial_flash_config_v10.1.03.zip

I am using platform cable USB (DLC9G). 

When I am executed my batch file (burn_intel_s33.bat) 

I found the mfg_code as 0xFF instead of 0x8(see attachment snapshot).

Verified fly lead connection, its fine.

I could not see the following statement too.

--> Total byte mismatches [0] (see [verify.txt])

What could be the issue?

mfg_code_Error_SPIFlashBatchfile.JPG
0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
34,421 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: mfg_code error on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Do you have ISE 10.1.03 or later installed?

 

Did you use your cable with iMPACT first after any software update?  This will update the cable firmware if necessary, which XIPcannot do.

 

Did you install a jumper on JP7 during the operation?  This ties PROG low and keeps the FPGA from conflicting with the cable.

 

Since J10 has 2 rows of pins to which you could connect the flyleads, make sure you are on the row closest to the LEDs.

 

You may need to open and edit the batch file to select different options for XIP.  A 2nd option for Platform Cable USB 1 is commented out in the batch file.  Try commenting out the first one and uncommenting the 2nd one.

 

I have also seen cases with bad flyleads.  You can test the flyleads by using them on J4 with iMPACT to perform JTAG configuration on the FPGA.

 

That's all I can think of right now.  Please reply back so I know if this is still a problem.

 

Bryan

0 Kudos
Visitor 270287
Visitor
4,225 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: mfg_code error on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Hello everybody,

 

I have got the same problem with exactly the same output in the command window. I use EDK in version 11.

Therefore I used impact for a connection to the cable, therefore I think the version is updated. I also used the flyleads connected

to J4 and everything was working. In the batch-file I tried every pssibility of cable. JP7 was always set and my flyleads

are only connected on the row cllosest to the LEDs.

 

But nothing helped.

 

Regards

Regina

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
4,220 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: mfg_code error on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

I'm not sure what the problem is.  It might help to get a little more information.  Which version of 11 are you using?  11.5 is available now.  I verified the operation in 11.4.

 

Which cable are you using?  Platform Cable USB-II?  Platform Cable USB-I?  Parallel Cable-IV?  I don't remember whether it was PCU-I or PCU-II that I was using when I tested this out.

 

You mention that you use EDK, therefore you have used iMPACT.  Downloading through EDK is not the same.  You must actually open the iMPACT GUI itself and have it connect to your cable.  I always do some basic operation like a JTAG configuration of the FPGA.  I believe it is only the iMPACT GUI that will detect when a firmware update of the PCU-I or PCU-II is required.  If you are using the PC-IV, then you have to open the pod and upgrade it a little more manually.

 

Of course there are many other things that could be checked.  Are the voltages at acceptable levels on your board?  Is the SPI Flash component oriented correctly and soldered well?  You could double-check the physical connections between J10 and the SPI Flash at U16 with an ohm-meter to rule out a defect on the PCB.

 

Bryan

Message Edited by bhfletcher on 04-16-2010 01:06 PM
0 Kudos
Visitor pillar2012
Visitor
4,073 Views
Registered: ‎03-30-2008

Re: mfg_code error on spartan 3a dsp 1800 board

Is XIP still only available for Windows?  I have linux and have no way of programming the S33.  Is it possible to program the S33 with other Xilinx command line tools (I assume that XIP does something similar)?  If so, if I had the right documentation to look at I could just do it myself.  Any leads on this would be appreciated.  Thank you.

0 Kudos