cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Artix7 LVDS input

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new to the FPGA world. I struggled to achieve things up to now myself. I discovered the benefit of this community now. Thank you a lot in advance. I try to interface the LTC6754 LVDS output comparator to my Artix7 Nexys-a7-100t FPGA. I look at the example xdc file and see that all input and outputs are LVCMOS3.3. I shared the datasheet and pictures of lvds input and output. Is it possible to connect the output of the LTC6754 to my FPGA directly.? How can I do it?

Thanks a lot.

Have a nice study.

Regards.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Artix7 LVDS input

Jump to solution

azadozankorkan@anadolu.edu.tr 

If you used the set_property constraints that I showed, then the top-level VHDL component in your project would look something like the following (which I have called TOP.vhd).  The signal called single_end is what you would use elsewhere in your VHDL code.

library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
library UNISIM;
use UNISIM.vcomponents.all;

entity TOP is
   port(
      LVDS1_P  : in std_logic; 
LVDS1_N : in std_logic
); end TOP;

architecture Behavior of TOP is
signal single_end : std_logic;

begin

IBDS1: IBUFDS
generic map(
DIFF_TERM => FALSE,
IBUF_LOW_PWR => TRUE,
IOSTANDARD => "DEFAULT")
port map(
O => single_end,
I => LVDS1_P,
IB => LVDS1_N
);

end Behavior;

The IBUFDS_DIFF_OUT component has a differential signal output and is for advanced users only.  In general, all signals inside the FPGA are single-end (and not differential).

Mark

View solution in original post

8 Replies
Highlighted

Jump to solution

Welcome to the Forum!

You may be able to use LVDS_25 to bring the output of LTC6754 into the Artix-7.

Here are things you should do to verify that this is possible.