cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Axi-stream data dsp with HLS (Normalize)

Jump to solution

Hi. I'm a FPGA newbie.

Currently, I want to implement the functions I want on the FPGA using the HLS tool.

The block that I want to implement is as follows.

After receiving the axi-stream data(16 bits) coming from multiple channels, finding the largest value, I want to create an IP that normalizes each stream data to the corresponding value and outputs it.

20200427_213241.png

In the normalization process, division operation is required, and the result value of the normalized data is to be output in the form of a fixed point.

(ap_fixed<16,1>)

We didn't use floating-point arithmetic because we don't need precise division.

To obtain the digital bit corresponding to the fixed-point division result, the following operation was performed.

short  Output1 = (x1 << 15) / (largest value)

Even though I confirmed that there was no problem with the code on the test bench, when I check the data using the Vivado ILA, I get 0000.

(I have already tried floating type and double type, but the result was the same.)

Previously, I had experience implementing division blocks with denominator set to a constant value, and this time it was well implemented.

I would like to know if the process of receiving and processing denominator terms as stream data during division is not possible in HLS.

If so, I am wondering if there is a good idea to normalize based on the maximum value of the received data.

Thank you in advance and I will wait for your reply.

Regards.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Re: Axi-stream data dsp with HLS (Normalize)

Jump to solution

@twyu0211 ,