UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer urodacus
Observer

Configuration rate - Artix 7

Jump to solution

Hello,

I noticed that my Artix-7 takes a lot of time to boot (approximatively 5 sec) which is usual since i have 17,536,096 bits to load for a xc7a35t and I use a SPI x1 and also, the configuration clock is at 3Mhz (+/- 50%) by default. (theory : 5,8 sec to boot)

After doing some calculs with formulas given by Xilinx's datasheet, I knew i could go up to 90 Mhz (so 60MHz because of the +/- 50% tolerance on internal oscillator).

I'm kinda new with constrainst files in Vivado (not used to it, only "pure" VHDL and basics constraints) and when I try to change the configrate, I see no change at all.

What I did is in my .xdc file (before assigning pins/standards) i wrote :

• set_property BITSTREAM.CONFIG.CONFIGRATE 22 [current_design]

I wrote 22 because I didn't want to try at maximum value at first.

Am I missing something ?

Thanks in advance for the help you can provide me.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Voyager
Voyager

Re: Configuration rate - Artix 7

Jump to solution

If you open the implemented design (Flow Navigator, left panel), then click Settings, in the Bitstream settings tab you will see a blue link (Configure additional bitstream settings). Click it, then in Configuration, yo will see a list of drop down lists, one of them titled 'Configuration Rate (MHz)'. These are the valid values. 

You can just try with the fastest speed, if it doesn't work, go one notch slower and so on. If a firmware to release into production, you have to make sure that setting will work in all conditions.