cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
2,662 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Digilent HS2, Vivado 2017.3 and Artix 7 : hardware not found

Jump to solution

Hi everybody,

 

Merry Christmas!!

 

I'm back, one more trouble...

 

I am trying to program my fpga (Artix 7) from JTAG.

I installed Digilent software, vivado cable driver.

 

I have a custom PCB with an Artix 7.

 

JTAG port is correctly connected to the FPGA (i think).

 

Vivado find the HS2, but no FPGA...

 

Any suggestions?

 

PS  : It is my first time doing it...

 

Thank you

 

Paul

Capture.JPG
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
3,445 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Hi everybody,

 

I get the problem...

One of the voltages was not routed well... Little strap and fpga is recognized by vivado!!

 :)

 

So problem solved (for the moment)!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
2,607 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Well, the obvious causes are that the FPGA isn't connected to JTAG properly or the FPGA isn't powered properly. Can you post the schematic section that covers the JTAG interface?

0 Kudos
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
2,602 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Hi @u4223374

 

A flash memory will be used after for FPGA programming.

I didn't configure it in Vivado, because i want to try to programming with vivado, for the moment.

I choosed Master SPI x4 and JTAG/Boundary Scan.

 

Maybe it could be M2 M1 M0 configuration? It is 001 (for Master SPI). No possibility to change it.

And i see in Xilinx document : 

"Although JTAG commands have priority over mode settings, it is recommended to have an M[2:0] option to enable the JTAG mode and operations without potential conflict from other configuration modes. "

 

I tried with an old ISE iMPACT 10.4, but it is the same.

 

I checked the VDD voltage on HS2 : 3.3 V.

Program_b is high (3.3 V).

 

I am lost!

Attached the schematics of Bank 0, JATG connector and Flash program memory.

bank0.JPG
JTAG connector.JPG
Flash memory.JPG
0 Kudos
u4223374
Advisor
Advisor
2,579 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

@pgrangeray What is the exact Artix 7 chip used here?

 

Everything looks fine to me so far. All I can think of is to re-check that (a) you've got the FPGA pinout right, and (b) you've got the JTAG connector the right way round (easy to solder those 2-row headers in rotated 180 degrees, which connects all your JTAG lines to ground).

0 Kudos
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
2,577 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

@u4223374

 

Thanks for reply.

 

The  chip is XC7A50T-3 FGG484.

 

I will recheck the pins!

0 Kudos
toshas
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,566 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2009

Hi!

 

Try to decrease jtag frequency.

0 Kudos
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
2,563 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Hi @toshas

 

Nice try ;)

Unfortunately, I tried that at the begining. No frequency works.

 

@u4223374 pins are ok. Vcc on the good pin. I can't check on the PCB TCK, TMS, TDI and TDO but no reason.

0 Kudos
pgrangeray
Explorer
Explorer
3,446 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Hi everybody,

 

I get the problem...

One of the voltages was not routed well... Little strap and fpga is recognized by vivado!!

 :)

 

So problem solved (for the moment)!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos