cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
796 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

HARDWARE TARGET DETECTED BUT DEVICE NOT FOUND VIVADO 2016.1 (ARTIX-7 FPGA)

Hi all,

This is a Artix-7 based custom board where when we power on the board the JTAG led gets green & further the hardware target gets detected but no device is found. Vivado 2016.1 is used here.

Checked points:

1. All FPGA configuration related voltages.

2. JTAG (TCK,TMS,TDI,TDO) signals voltage levels & behaviour

Kindly suggest further debugging steps. 

Thanks 

Arun

 

0 Kudos
10 Replies
emy
Visitor
Visitor
783 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2019

Set the JTAG clock frequency to lower frquency and try it

0 Kudos
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
748 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

Tried with 750KHz

But the issue still persists.

Thanks 

0 Kudos
drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher
731 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

out with the scope,

 

follow the JTAG lines, see where the waveform stops,

    you should be able to see the training waveform of JTAG through the loop, and you should see a nice clean signal on al llines.

this is form the old tools, but still relevant

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx14_6/pim_r_common_issues_and_debug_solutions.htm

 

and these guys know a good thing or three

https://www.xjtag.com/support/support-notes/jtag-chain-debugging/

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
716 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

Thanks

Will check & update

0 Kudos
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
700 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

On debugging with IMPACT Boundary Scan Chain Debug,

We noticed that the TDO pin is not responding as per the TDI input. TDO is constantly high.

Also in this hardware, VCC_INT voltage was not reaching FPGA and we switched on the board. As a result of which power sequencing was violated. So we want to know that is this the reason for the TDO not responding & the FPGA device not getting detected. Do we need to replace the FPGA?

Please suggest

Thanks 

drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher
683 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

you might be luck with the FPGA , just connect vcc_int, though I would not ship the boar to customer,

yep, I think the JTAG runs off the vcc_int lines

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
670 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

Hi,

TDO line was not connected properly. So looks like that's not the issue.

But its true that the VCC_INT voltage was not supplied initially. So the power sequencing was violated.

Please suggest how to proceed.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher
661 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

fix it and see what happens
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
arunjadhav
Observer
Observer
642 Views
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

Even after fixing it ..the FPGA is not getting detected ..

Any suggestion.?

0 Kudos
drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher
632 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

did you pop the fpga is an option ?
does the tdi / tdo trace following with the scope now work ?
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos