cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ivanpb1992
Visitor
Visitor

How to program non volatile code (SD or flash)

Hello everybody, 

I'm new in Vivado, and I have a ZCU106 evaluation board.

I'm looking for a guide or a tutorial about how to program the FPGA in a Non volatile way (SD or flash)

I've wasted one week searching for it, but I hven't found good results...

First I would like to program just a blink code (Without using SDK or AXI GPIO, in a traditional way) What do you recomend me?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
vnsnhav
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi @ivanpb1992,

There are multiple ways to program the flash,

1. Program Flash using Vivado, Please follow the steps mentioned in the Document below Chapter 6.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2020_1/ug908-vivado-programming-debugging.pdf

2. program_flash using SDK:

https://www.xilinx.com/html_docs/xilinx2019_1/SDK_Doc/SDK_references/sdk_u_program_flash.html

ivanpb1992
Visitor
Visitor

Great thank you!

And to program from the SD is there any good tutorial?

Thanks!!!

0 Kudos
dgisselq
Scholar
Scholar

@ivanpb1992,

Xilinx devices don't have the native ability to boot from an SD card, although many boards do.  For example, I have a board from Digilent (Nexys Video) that allows me to boot an FPGA from an SD card.  Typically the way you do this is to remove the SD card from the board, place the toplevel.bin (or .bit--check your manufacturers instructions) in the root directory of the SD card, put it back on the board and reconfigure the board.  (i.e. power it up, or issue an IPROG command or some such)  On these boards, an attached microprocessor (PIC) will read the design from the SD card and feed it to the FPGA via either the JTAG port or the SPI flash pins.