Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Kintex 7 pin assignment for USB serial communication

Hello,,

I'm new to FPGA world, and I'm trying to implement a serial UART communication with my PC using USB-b port on board k7325t, I need to know which pins names (i.e. M12, B5, J1...) should be assigned to TxD and RxD on the verilog module I created? How to know that pin J1 or K13 for example corresponds to certain output or input on the board?

Thank you in advance.

Regards

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Highlighted

IO locations are defined in the constraints file. Create yours (Add sources, constraint file, etc).

As I suppose you know nothing about constraints, you may want to read this:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2018_3/ug903-vivado-using-constraints.pdf

Maybe too much for just learning how to place pins....

A shorter way is:

- Synthesize your design (not implement)

- Open the synthesized design. you will see a diagram of the chip pins, if not, click on the I/O planning layout)

- click on the I/O ports in the tabs at the bottom.

- Click and drag your ports in the tab, to the physical pins in the package diagram.

- Select other pin parameters, like the standard, bank voltage, pull up/downs, impedance terminations, etc

- When done, click save or CTRL-S, it will ask you what constraints file to save the changes, select 'create new'

- Close the synthesized design. check you have that file created in the sources panel. Open it and have a look how the constraints are created. If you need to change the pins, you can just edit the constraints there.

- Now, implement it and make your bitstream.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Hello archangel,,

Sorry for the late reply.