UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor neethu_21
Visitor

Spartan 6 Custom Board SPI Flash not detected and unable to program(indirect ) using iMPACT

Hi All,

I am new to FPGA development. A custom board is designed and fabricated using Spartan 6 LX25.

I am able to program the Chip (LX25) using JTAG  successfully. A SPI Flash (W25Q64JV) has been added for configuration storage.

I have tried programming the Flash using iMPACT version 14.4 but unable to program it and message I got is given below.

(I did not receive any error message at all, It just displays Flash is not programmed)

PROGRESS_START - Starting Operation.
'1': SPI access core not detected. SPI access core will be downloaded to the device to enable operations.
INFO:iMPACT - Downloading core file C:/Xilinx/14.4/ISE_DS/ISE/spartan6/data/xc6slx25_spi.cor.
'1': Downloading core...
LCK_cycle = NoWait.
LCK cycle: NoWait
done.
'1': Reading status register contents...
INFO:iMPACT:2219 - Status register values:
INFO:iMPACT - 0010 0100 0100 1000
INFO:iMPACT:2492 - '1': Completed downloading core to device.
INFO:iMPACT - '1': Flash was not programmed successfully.
PROGRESS_END - End Operation.

I have attached the schematics for reference.

Please throw some light on this issue.

Thanking You,

Neethu

schmatics_1.png
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

回复: Spartan 6 Custom Board SPI Flash not detected and unable to program(indirect ) using iMPACT

Hi neethu_21,

You can use a oscilloscope to check the waveform when FPGA try to program the Flash. Make sure connect the probe at the Flash pins to check the connectivity for these signals.