Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marton
Visitor
Visitor

Spartan 6 external clock shift register

Jump to solution

Hey all,

I need to interface a chip which gives a bunch of pins with data and a clock pin. The clock is at 40Mhz.

The FPGA board I'm using for this is a Mojo v3, with a Spartan 6 chip. I am programming it in verilog, I'm still pretty new to this technology and environment.

I thought for reading this data I will need a shift register. I implemented a simple one using a module and it almost works fine.

My issue is that my always block is triggered both for clock AND data going high. So for each high pin I am getting two bits.

I made a test setup to see what's happening, used an avr to generate the clock and data signals. For now I'm using a 8bit shift register, wired directly to the FPGA leds. Checked the signals with a scope and they are pretty clean. Also, the setup is stable, I always get two bits for high and one for low. The pin I am using is a GCLK according to the user guide. I also tested the code with the internal clock, and it works perfectly with it. So my assumption would be that the code is okay but I'm missing some settings when using a pin as clock, but can't figure out what.

This is the relevant part from my .ucf file:

NET "clock" LOC = P92 | IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS18;
NET "data" LOC = P94 | IOSTANDARD = LVTTL;

And this is the verilog module for the shift register.

module flipD #(parameter SIZE =  (
    input clock,
    input D,
    output [SIZE - 1 : 0] Q
  );

reg [SIZE - 1 : 0] q;
  assign Q = q;

always @(posedge clock) begin
    q = q << 1;
    q[0] = D;
  end

endmodule

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

@marton 

I am familiar with doing this using Vivado, the Spartan-7, and VHDL.  However, my knowledge of ISE, the Spartan-6, and Verilog is all pretty rusty.  So, I can tell you what to do but I can’t tell you exactly how to do it.

Here is one way to capture the LVDS data with the FPGA: