UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor hugobpontes
Visitor

Vivado FPGA part selection

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm an aerospace engineering student and for my master thesis I will be implementing an attitude control algorithm onto a satellite's on board computer, more specifically onto its FPGA.

As of now my knowledge in FPGA is rather limited so I've been trying to figure out how to set up an FPGA using vivado. When starting the application it asks for my FPGA part and the one I will be using is Spartan 3E and it says XC3S50GE on the chip(I'm not a 100% sure the 'G' is actually a G, the image I have is blurry). This part is not available in Vivado or at least I can't find it. How can I work around this issue? Is it possible to add a new component to the database? Or maybe use an identical part?

Additionally I have another question although I'm not sure this is the right place to ask, however if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated:

I am much more familiarised with implementing control algorithms on Matlab and I've been doing some research on how to implement a Matlab algorithm into an FPGA and so far I found that I can 'translate' the matlab code to vhdl or verilog that can be used in fpga or alternatively I could design a simulink model from the matlab code,  that could be implemented in FPGA as well ,though I didn't quite understand why one would go through Simulink if the first option can work. What would you recommend for my specific case and why ? 

Thank you very much in advance!

-Hugo

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Scholar u4223374
Scholar

Re: Vivado FPGA part selection

Jump to solution