cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

first xilinx fpga project (spartan-7, XC7S15 development board)

Moderators, please change to appropriate forum for this post (Other FPGA?)

Hello, I ordered from SEEED a development board which is supports two configurations: Arduino add-on, and FPGA development. The product is https://www.seeedstudio.com/Spartan-Edge-Accelerator-Board-p-4261.html 

I'm a competent HW developer, SW and Firmware developer with embedded experience, but a FPGA novice.

I'm browsing the Vivado WebPack (free) edition documentation, and also the various PDFs related to Spartan-7. Can MicroBlaze core be installed in this FPGA? Are performance metrics available, and can we have more than one MicroBlaze instances on this particular device? 

Also, could anyone share real-world current consumption data for  Spartan-7 project with a modest amount of Logical Elements? Is there a handy formula for LUT - LE calculation?

Regards

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

@n3rdx,

For all answers look at page5, Table-2 of this doc - https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/white_papers/wp501-microblaze.pdf

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FPGA enthusiast!
All PMs will be ignored
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Highlighted

Yes, Spartan-7 supports Microblaze.

I'd say yes, you can have more than one (if it makes sense...). About performance metrics and space/number, what happens is it depends how you configure it, MB is quite flexible, you can have from a relatively small, simple microcontroller to a Linux-capable processor one. Synthesis can also be optimized for space or performance, so figures will vary. In short, microblaze is more a "family" of things than a single thing in that respect.